ARC Review – Dreamland by Robert L. Anderson

23245337Title: Dreamland

Author: Robert L. Anderson

Rating: ★★

Synopsis: Odea Donahue has been able to travel through people’s dreams since she was six years old. Her mother taught her the three rules of walking: Never interfere. Never be seen. Never walk the same person’s dream more than once. Dea has never questioned her mother, not about the rules, not about the clocks or the mirrors, not about moving from place to place to be one step ahead of the unseen monsters that Dea’s mother is certain are right behind them.

Then a mysterious new boy, Connor, comes to town and Dea finally starts to feel normal. As Connor breaks down the walls that she’s had up for so long, he gets closer to learning her secret. For the first time she wonders if that’s so bad. But when Dea breaks the rules, the boundary between worlds begins to deteriorate. How can she know what’s real and what’s not?

Huge thank you to the publisher for sending me a copy of this for review!

River’s Review:

Sadly I didn’t really enjoy this book as much as I had hoped, which was really upsetting because I was SO looking forward to this! I just spent a lot of time while reading this book thinking “really…?” because there was just a lot of stuff that made me either side eye it or roll my eyes at it. Basically I just can’t believe half the stuff the people in this book believed! And the lack of explanation of anything just frustrated me to no end.

Dea wasn’t a bad character but she didn’t really do anything for me. I thought her friend’s nickname was stupid and her instant connection with Connor was a little too convenient. And the dreamwalking thing, which seemed SO cool, was just so flat and boring and never really made any sense to me.

Other things that bugged me where the “rumors” that the people believed about Dea and her mother. Vampires, zobmies, witches? Really? Maybe like, in elementary school. And this is so stupid, but when she went to the post office and had to get let in to access her PO Box… I kinda thought the whole point of a PO Box was so that you could go anytime to access it (I know the one at my post office is outside of the main lobby so you can still use it after the main lobby has closed). And it drove me INSANE when she was choosing to leave safety and security for someone she’d known for less than a few months! There were just all kinds of bad YA choices happening and I didn’t like it at all.

But the writing wasn’t bad and I was able to finish it, so two stars.

Leave a Reply

