This Monstrous Weekend!

Hey guys! Sorry long time no post. As you know my life consists of hanging out with my husband in his AI lab and reading ALLL the books. This month I’ve done quite a bit of reading, but not a ton of reviewing… saving up for next month because I have a HUGE pile of books to review!

This past weekend was super bookish and super fun and basically ALL THE THINGS THAT I HAD HOPED FOR UPON RETURNING TO THE USA!!! I went to two book events and they were both AH-MAY-ZING.

First on Friday I took the day off from work and it was wondrous and I was lazy (okay so totally not) and ate lunch at my favorite cafe and cleaned my house and then went to pick up Melissa Giorgio from the train station!!! Melissa has been a friend of mine since high school but due to being out of the country we hadn’t seen each other since 2008, when she came to visit me in Tokyo. So yeah. Major reunion. She took the train up from NYC and got here around 3:00pm. We went back to Kendall Square, got her situated in her hotel room and then I took her on a tour of the MIT campus before we ate dinner and then went back to my place. She FINALLY met my husband and they chatted while I got ready for THIS MONSTROUS LAUNCH PARTY at Porter Square Books.

I’m sure you’ve all seen me tweeting about This Monstrous Thing by Mackenzi Lee. Mackenzi is a local friend and I was so excited that I could help support her new book. I’ve read the book (and reviewed it here) and I LOVE OLIVER SO MUCH OKAY. All last week I worked on what I dubbed THIS MONSTROUS SURPRISE which was…

TMT2This Monstrous Sign! (Omg I cannot stop with the puns! Not even sorry!) I drew it (first thing I’ve drawn IN YEARS) and I am SO pleased with how it turned out! I sat in the very front at her launch (it was PACKED!) and held it up when she first got up front and the expression on her face was priceless! I gave it to her as a present later on and I was so happy that she loved it! (as well as other people on social media! Woohoo!)

The launch was pretty awesome. Melissa Lee saved me a seat and me and my Melissas (Who will be Melissa Lee and Melissa G from here on) listened to Mackenzi wax poetically about Mary Shelly, Frankenstein and her awesome adventures in Europe. After Mackenzi was done reading and speaking everyone got in line to get their book signed. Thinking we’d wait out the rush Melissa Lee, Melissa G, and I went to do other things… which sadly was a shitty choice (another pun! if you’ve read the book.. read the book!) because we missed out on cookies and ended up waiting an hour in line!

But we did take some fun photos!

TMT3Melissa G, myself and Melissa Lee

IMG_1948Melissa Lee, Frankie & IIMG_1935This Monstrous Thing!!!!

It was not a late night because we had to all wake up early the next day for… BOSTON TEEN AUTHOR FEST!!!

No Typo

Saturday morning I woke up early to get ready. Melissa Lee was picking us up around 9, and I wanted to actually dress up since it seems like I NEVER get to dress fun anymore with work being a Professional Setting and weekends being super relaxed.

IMG_1958I was SO excited to wear my favorite black Murua shirt dress and this new pair of tights that I bought basically for the event. The text on them is very… interesting to say the least. I’m suspecting that they were made in Japan…

Melissa Lee came and got us and we arrived at the Cambridge Public Library a little bit before 10:00 AM, so we went to Starbucks where we ran into a horde of authors. We chatted with some of them in line and made friends with Adam Silvera (More Happy than Not) and Becky Albertalli (Simon Vs. the Homo-sapiens) who we then later kept running into (and Melissa Lee already knew them and had met a few times before).

btaf6All the authors!!!

btaf1Selfie with Adam and Becky!

btaf3Selfie with Kendall Kulper (Salt & Storm and Drift and Dagger), Adam, Mackenzi and some girls we don’t know!

btaf2Kissy kissy!

btaf4They gave out free copies of The August 5 and I got my copies of Blood and Salt and Salt & Storm signed.

I also ran into a few other authors I knew (one of them being Lori Goldstein; author of Becoming Jinn) and some other blogger/book friends. It was really nice to see everyone! And after hours of standing in line for Leigh Bardugo to sign ALL the books…

btaf5(Leigh Bardugo, Melissa G, Nicole Moy, half my head and Melissa Lee not pictured because DRIVING)

We gave her a ride to Porter Square Books. MOST EPIC CAR RIDE EVER!

So yeah. Pretty much Best. Day. Ever.

4 thoughts on “This Monstrous Weekend!

  1. Ellie

    YAY FOR BOOK EVENTS! This weekend was such a crazy book weekend of all weekends. You’re pictures are so fun! I wish I had taken more at the Boston Teen Author Fest 😛

    Reply
  2. Holly J

    This was super fun to read! It sounds like you had the absolutely best weekend. Bookish events, meeting book people, and chatting with authors is always great. And that’s hilarious and awesome that you gave Leigh a ride. Great recap!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

