ARC Review – Wolf By Wolf (Wolf By Wolf #1) by Ryan Graudin

24807186Title: Wolf By Wolf (Wolf By Wolf #1)

Author: Ryan Graudin

Rating:  ★★★★★

Synopsis: The year is 1956, and the Axis powers of the Third Reich and Imperial Japan rule the world. To commemorate their Great Victory over Britain and Russia, Hitler and Emperor Hirohito host the Axis Tour: an annual motorcycle race across their conjoined continents. The victor is awarded an audience with the highly reclusive Adolf Hitler at the Victor’s ball.

Yael, who escaped from a death camp, has one goal: Win the race and kill Hitler. A survivor of painful human experimentation, Yael has the power to skinshift and must complete her mission by impersonating last year’s only female victor, Adele Wolfe. This deception becomes more difficult when Felix, Adele twin’s brother, and Luka, her former love interest, enter the race and watch Yael’s every move. But as Yael begins to get closer to the other competitors, can she bring herself to be as ruthless as she needs to be to avoid discovery and complete her mission?

Huge thank you to The Novl for sending me an ARC of this book!

River’s Review:

OMG THIS WAS SO GOOD ALL THE STARS!!!!

This had everything I love! Racing, kick-ass girls, sibling relationships, a not horrible not IN YOUR FACE romance! Alternate history! IT WAS SO FREAKING COOL. I don’t remember the last time I was so INVESTED in a book like this. I was literally shaking with adrenaline during the racing parts and crying at the end, and smiling at Lowe and SCREAMING at the betrayals and filled with SO MUCH HATE over the horrors of the Third Reich.

I’m not usually that into historical fiction, or even alternate history historical fiction. Lately I’ve been REALLY into dark contemporary, but sometimes I need a break. And in between I like to throw in some fantasy, historical, sci-fi… so when I got a copy of this book I was THRILLED! I really enjoyed Graudin’s earlier book, The Walled City and while I enjoyed it, I didn’t LOVE IT WITH ALL MY BEING. So I went into this book expecting it to be awesome, but not AWESOME, but… it was AWESOME TIMES A MILLION.

I feel like the two things that really struck me were the stories behind her wolves and the story behind who Yael herself was. I loved how she struggled with who she was because she couldn’t even remember her own face. I loved how she clung to her wolves and how they formed her current identity. I really loved her relationships with both Felix and Lowe. I liked how there was depth to many of the racers and that a lot of them weren’t just faceless contenders. I love that even though this is a book about a life or death race it didn’t feel like any of the other books out there that are about life or death races. And I really loved the revelations at the end. And I am damn curious to see how a sequel will spin out.

Writing reviews for books that I LOVELOVELOVED are always the hardest. And I basically just want to say: I LOVE THIS BOOK AND YOU MUST READ IT THIS OCTOBER OKAY?!

One thought on “ARC Review – Wolf By Wolf (Wolf By Wolf #1) by Ryan Graudin

Leave a Reply

