Wicked Reads with River and Penguin Teen

WickedReads_Sticker_15_2p2

Guy guys guys HALLOWEEN IS LESS THAN WEEK AWAY. I GET TO DRESS UP ON FRIDAY AND SATURDAY AND I AM SO EXCITED.

~exhale~

I love Halloween. LOVE it. I used to always dress up. Then I moved to Japan. If you google enough you’ll find some really bizarre Halloween happenings over there. There’s a “Halloween Train” which is basically one car on the Yamanote (which is my fav train, it runs in a circle both ways, it’s awesome and takes one hour to do a full loop yes I’ve done it before… more than once…) where a bunch of crazy foreigners and their friends get drunk and ride around in Halloween costumes. I’m not sure if it still happens because I know that a lot of Japanese people hated it, but if you google you will find. I also just read an interesting article about a prominent Yakuza family who was giving out bags of candy! So that’s a thing. And at the last English school I worked at (in Hitachi) the local community government (like a community watch group) came around and gave all the shops in the area snacks to hand out and then they brought a bunch of kids around and they said something like “Candy please” and we gave them the pre-provided snacks. It was… odd.

SO I am so happy that being back in the USA means properly celebrating Halloween! While I did try to keep it alive in Japan (I once threw a Halloween party for my husband when we were first dating so he could “experience American culture”) it’s so fun to be able to dress up for work and go to Halloween parties.

And of course, READ REALLY CREEPY SCARY BOOKS. Because if there’s something that I love doing in October, it’s scaring myself. And I am the biggest wuss when it comes to horror. Especially movies and TV. But with books I’m okay. Maybe because I can’t actually SEE anything worse than what my own head can create. I love the creepy crawly FEELING that comes with reading freaky book. And read freaky books I have!

Penguin Teen contacted me asking if I’d like to partake in their #WickedReads event and I said OF COURSE I LOVE WICKED THINGS. And they sent me:
surviveSurvive the Night by Danielle Vega

When I first read the synopsis of this book I knew that I HAD to read it! A group of friends gets trapped in an abandoned NYC subway when a rave they’re attending gets busted? And people start dying?! CREEPY! Sadly what was a decent book slowly became a B-class horror show with some weird monster stuff but meh, it was creepy and fun and a quick read. I haven’t read her other book, but I want to give it a try now that I know her stuff can be so freaky!

Along with this I’ve read a TON of other freaky books that I saved just for October. Let me know if you’ve read any of them and if they freaked you out as much as they did me!

mad

A Madness so Discreet by Mindy McGinnis

Ever since Mindy tweeted that this book took place in a insane asylum I knew that I HAD to get my hands on it! I LOVED Mindy’s other books and I love how dark her writing is and how she just isn’t afraid to GO THERE. This book was everything I had wanted and more. I really liked that there wasn’t any romance in it, and the relationship between Grace and the Dr. was perfection! There were loads of dark, creepy moments too!

17Project 17 by Laurie Faria Stolarz

This book was given to me by my #OTSPSecretSister. I found it very fitting that it ALSO took place in an insane asylum, and I decided to read it right after I’d finished MADNESS. Not sure if that was the best idea or the BEST idea… but there was a point where I was home alone in the dark and had to put it down because… yeah… ghost children. This book was really fun because it takes place in Danvers, MA, which isn’t too far from where I live! And it was based on a real place. FREAKY!

curiousThe Curiosities by Stiefvater, Gratton & Yovanoff

This is a book that I’ve been slowly reading and finally just sat down and tore through one afternoon. It’s not really a scary book, but there are tons of freaky stories in this! I mean come on… just look at the authors… hahahaha! There was one that took place on Halloween, but there were so many other dark stories with ghosts and vampires and zombies… I loved this book so much and I’m really glad that I decided to finish it this month.

bsBlood and Salt by Kim Liggett

I went to Boston Teen Author Fest last month and only allowed myself to buy one book… and this was it! I have been so excited to read this and wow was it good! Cults and blood and sacrifices and immortals and ancient rituals… I love all of that and this book had ALL of that! I couldn’t put this down and I am so glad that I grabbed it and had a chance to meet the author as well!

pieceAnother Little Piece by Kate Karyus Quinn

I didn’t read this one this month, but it is one of my most favorite freaky books and I read this for Halloween a few years ago and I will never stop recommending it as a Halloween read. It is twisted and bloody and freaky and mind-fucking and I just love it so much. If you need to read one book to freak yourself out this season… read this!

So tell me what are some of your favorite #WickedReads??? And what are you going to be for Halloween? (I’m going to be Wednesday Addams… there WILL be photos!) Leave me your answers in the comments!

Leave a Reply

