ARC Review – Ten Thousand Skies Above You (Firebird #2) by Claudia Gray

17234659Title: Ten Thousand Skies Above You (Firebird #2)

Author:  Claudia Gray

Rating:  ★★★★★

Synopsis: Ever since she used the Firebird, her parents’ invention, to cross into alternate dimensions, Marguerite has caught the attention of enemies who will do anything to force her into helping them dominate the multiverse—even hurting the people she loves. She resists until her boyfriend, Paul, is attacked and his consciousness scattered across multiple dimensions.

Marguerite has no choice but to search for each splinter of Paul’s soul. The hunt sends her racing through a war-torn San Francisco, the criminal underworld of New York City, and a glittering Paris where another Marguerite hides a shocking secret. Each world brings Marguerite one step closer to rescuing Paul. But with each trial she faces, she begins to question the destiny she thought they shared.

Huge thank you to the publisher for sending me a copy for review!

River’s Review:

OMG THAT ENDING!!!!!!!

I have no idea how I’m going to make it until the next book comes out. Jesus. Guys. This book is SO GOOD. I really really liked the first one, but I LOVED THIS ONE (apparently it has the UMPH that the first one was missing). I couldn’t put it down! It’s a fairly fat book (at least it was one of the fatter ones in my review stack) and I finished it in like five seconds.

This one picks up where the first book left off and I was happy that I didn’t have to stretch my memory too much because there is a little recapping but it’s not like INFO DUMP, so we’re good. It quickly gets moving though (actually it gets moving and then lets you know what’s going on) and we find out that Paul’s consciousness (his “soul”) has been split into 4 pieces. This was done basically so that Marguerite is forced to work for Triad. She goes around to different dimensions to sabotage Firebird research. I loved the new dimensions! We get to see NYC and a scary ass Paul, war-torn California (which was my favorite) and then back to Russia (this time the Duchess is in Paris) and OMG! I also liked the last dimension she visited and the things that both Paul and Marguerite discovered about themselves. There were a lot of touching moments and I liked how Marguerite kept questioning people’s motives and eventually started to question the ethics of what they’re doing.

Since I found Paul kind of boring in the first one I was actually glad that it was Theo accompanying Marguerite while she hunted down the pieces of Paul. I really enjoy Theo and I was glad to see a lot of him in this. I liked how he kept pushing Marguerite when she would start to see the possible bad in him. But it was nice to see Paul and Marguerite’s relationship develop in the flashbacks.

AND THE ENDING HOLY SHIT I DID NOT SEE THAT COMING AT ALL.

One thought on “ARC Review – Ten Thousand Skies Above You (Firebird #2) by Claudia Gray

Leave a Reply

