Five Middle Grade Reads to Devour in the Winter

Fall is almost over, and winter is going to be settling in very soon. I find Fall and Spring are when I read the most middle grade, and I think it has to do with the weather and events that are going on in a middle grader’s life. Fall always signifies the end of summer, so it’s back to school, back to reality. Spring signifies birth and new life, and for a lot of middle graders it’s a time for change and the end of the school year. I thought I’d share a few of my recent middle grade faves with you all and while you should cozy up with them come winter.

23310670

The Boy Who Knew Everything by Victoria Forester

This was easily one of my favourite reads in October. This book is such an intense read, and Forester’s writing is so easy to fall in love with. The characters in this story are just wonderfully crafted and it’s easy to root for them. This book even has a few twists and turns that I admit, I didn’t even see coming. While it’s a chunky book (over 400 pages!), it’s one that if you get yourself a nice large cup of tea, you’ll devour in no time.

13129136

The Year of Shadows by Claire Legrand

My other favourite middle grade read from October. This book is dark, humourous, and delightful. It’s about ghosts, family, and striving to preserve the things that matter most in your life. Plus it has a talking cat! The characters are fantastic in this story, and they are so funny. Olivia is easily a heroine who will steal your heart. Perfect for fall, especially around Halloween.

24951698

The Wrinkled Crown
by Anne Nesbet

This was my first Anne Nesbet novel, and I’m definitely going to be checking out more of her books now. This book screams fall read, from it’s gorgeous cover, to the musical contents inside. This book reads very old school fantasy, so it also has the appeal for adult fantasy fans as well. Linny is a great heroine — she’s smart, inquisitive, and she will put a huge smile on your face. Plus there’s twins! Mismatched twins no less! Again, this book is great for those cold fall nights where you want to be whisked away to parts unknown.

23270216

The Blackthorn Key by Kevin Sands

I’ve said before and I’ll say it again: Percy Jackson ain’t got nothing on The Blackthorn Key. Nothing against good old Percy, but I feel like this book deserves more praise and buzz just because it’s such an intelligent middle grade read. Not only does it encourage middle graders to solve puzzles and decode them, but our heroes in this book are just so damn awesome. I devoured this book back in the summer, and it’s one of those reads where I feel like if you go in not knowing much about it, the ride will be so much more rewarding. Seriously, check this one out.

23310699

Crenshaw by Katherine Applegate

This book made me cry in public. I was reading it on the bus and it just destroyed me. It’s a book that focuses on the power of imagination and how to combat homelessness. It asks readers to consider what happens when you lose nearly everything — how do you carry on? Crenshaw the Cat will steal your heart and remind you that life is still worth living and that even the tough stuff can be dealt with if you have a little bit of faith. This book is fantastic for those who love having strong, emotional connections to characters.

So these are some of my recent favourite fallish middle grade readers. What are some of yours? Please let me know in the comments some of your new favourites!

2 thoughts on “Five Middle Grade Reads to Devour in the Winter

Leave a Reply

