Blog Tour – The Fading Dusk by Melissa Giorgio (Double Review)

unnamedTitle: The Fading Dusk (Smoke & Mirrors #1)

Author: Melissa Giorgio

Rating:  ★★★★ 1/2 / ★★★★

Release Date: July 19th, 2015 (Add to Goodreads )

Synopsis: In the gritty city of Dusk, seventeen-year-old Irina makes her living as the street magician Bantheir’s assistant. The job isn’t glamorous, but she loves the crowds, the shows, and most of all, the illusion of magic. But Irina’s world is shattered the night she is arrested and charged as Bantheir’s accomplice to murder—murder by magic.

Real magic, the kind that’s been forbidden since the old wars.

Irina finds the idea of flashy showman Bantheir using actual magic to kill someone laughable, but she’s the only one who sees how ridiculous the claim is. But how can she convince everyone Bantheir is innocent when they’ve already made up their minds? Desperate, Irina must decide who she can trust to help her win her freedom. Is the surly, handsome Captain Leonid telling the truth when he says he believes Irina is innocent, or is he just using her to get to Bantheir? What about Aden, the sweet soldier and longtime fan of Irina’s who claims he’s on her side?

Irina said she wanted to know the truth, but when she stumbles across a dark secret that changes everything, will she be strong enough to survive?

Huge thank you to Xpresso Reads Book Tours for having us as a tour stop!

Sam’s Review (4.5 Stars):

I admit, I haven’t finished Melissa Giorgio’s Silver Moon Saga, but what I have read, I’ve completely adored. You’d wonder then why I’d start her new series, as opposed to finishing a previous one, and the answer is quite simple: I love a deep and rich fantasy world.

The world of Dusk is wonderfully fleshed out for the reader, and in a lot of ways, feels like a character in the story. There’s a foreboding atmosphere that surrounds the world, one that changes and expands as the actual characters grow within the story. I loved that street performance was something that was heavily integrated into the story, and I love the way in which Giorgio describes magic in this world as being something dangerous, but also something with the power to entertain and delight.My favourite character easily embodied those traits, which was Bantheir. I LOVED him. I found him to be both smarmy, and reviling, and yet he aims to entertain in ways that make you chuckle and feel a bit uncomfortable.

If I’m being honest, I really enjoyed how everything in this story is described. I love the character growth and development, especially for Irina, who becomes quite the unlikely heroine (in that, she really doesn’t want to be). I appreciate how much of a softer heroine she is in comparison to Gabi from The Silver Moon Saga, as Irina is a much more methodical, unsure, heroine who grows so gradually throughout.

I loved how unpredictable a lot of the story was, and I liked the way in which many of the plot twists were developed. The ending was fantastic, and it leaves a great lasting impression on the reader, showing how strong and more confident Irina becomes with herself. I also appreciate that the love triangle in this book didn’t turn out to be a love triangle really, and I ended up rooting for Leonid with ease. He’s a pretty grumpy guy, but I like the cut of his jib.

Overall, I think The Fading Dusk is a solid start to a new fantasy series. Considering how the book ended, I’m looking forward to see what is in store for Irina and her companions, as they have a difficult road ahead of them. If you love a rich and well developed fantasy novel, this book is definitely worth investigating.

River’s Review (4 Stars):

If you’re a fan of YA fantasy then you’ll really love this! As we all know I adored this author’s previous series, and I was very excited to read more of her stuff. This book (and series) is going to be very different from The Sight Seer and I think that’s great! Sadly I missed my Gabby-sassy-pants a little too much. Okay no I’m joking. I just don’t think that the city of Dusk is going to be knocking Gabby out of the top spot in my heart anytime soon.

First I’ll just say what didn’t work for me. And it was really only two things. First was that it was a bit repetitive at times in some of the words used for descriptions. “The burly man” and “The street magician” were two of the phrases that I got real sick of reading after awhile. I know that Giorgio is a good writer and I know that she can give us description (hello creepy as FUCK demons in TSS!). And second, the romance was just a little too quick for me. I would have liked to have seen a little more courting, a little more falling. And while there is a hint of a love triangle, don’t despair! Things turn out much better than expected.

What did I love? THE FREAKING MAGIC! THE SETTING. THE CITY OF DUSK. IRINA! CAPTAIN GRUMPY PANTS! For real the characters were really good. I liked how sure of herself Irina was. I liked how she took charge and did what needed to be done. I also loved how damn loyal she was (magic or not). My favorite part was how she was using her bangle bracelets to torment Leonid. I was all you go girl!

The city of Dusk is beautiful. I love the map in the front and I love the way it’s described and how damn alive it is in the book. In fantasy a strong world and a setting that lives as much as a character on the pages does is important. And the world building in this is very strong.

The whole cast of characters is great. Sometimes you fear that they’re going to fall into typical YA tropes and then Giorgio pulls the rug out from under us. I loved how she did this in TSS and I loved how she did it in this new series.

And the magic was so awesome. I loved how it started out as just for fun, a way to make a living, and then evolved into something read, dangerous and deadly.

Despite what I said about not liking some of the ways things were described, there were just a few isolated cases (that unfortunately happened enough that they bugged me), and overall the writing is really good. I loved the action! I loved all the movement. And I really enjoyed how there were times when I was laughing and then with a turn of the page was feeling some deep things.

I’m really excited to see what’s to come for these characters! Definately give this a chance!

unnamed

Want to win a signed paperback copy of the book? You have your chance to in this giveaway!! (US/Canada Only)

To Purchase The Fading Dusk:

unnamed (1)AUTHOR BIO:
Melissa Giorgio is a native New Yorker who graduated from Queens College with a degree in English. She’s always dreamed of being a writer and has been creating stories (mostly in her head) since she was a little girl. Also an avid reader, Melissa loves to devour thick YA novels. When not reading or writing, she enjoys watching animated films, listening to music by her favorite Japanese boy band, or exploring Manhattan. She is also the author of the Silver Moon Saga.

Author links:

 

 

Check out the other stops on the tour! See a list of the full blog tour!

unnamed (1)

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour – The Fading Dusk by Melissa Giorgio (Double Review)

Leave a Reply

