ARC Review – Promises I Made (Lies I Told #2) by Michelle Zink

25056008Title:  Promises I Made (Lies I Told #2)

Author: Michelle Zink

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: Grace Fontaine was trained to carry out perfect crimes. But when a mistake was made the night her family tried to execute their biggest heist yet, her world fell apart. Now her brother is in jail, her mother has disappeared with the entire stolen fortune, and her father is determined to find a new mark, no matter the cost.

Haunted by the way she betrayed her friends—and Logan, the only boy she’s ever loved—as well as the role she played in her brother’s arrest, Grace decides she must return to the place every thief knows you should avoid: the scene of the crime.

Returning to Playa Hermosa as a wanted criminal is dangerous. But Grace has only one chance to make things right. To do it, she has to use everything she’s been taught about the art of the con to hunt down the very people who trained her: the only family she’s ever known.
Perfect for fans of Ally Carter, Cecily von Ziegesar, and Gail Carriger, this thrilling, high-stakes novel deftly explores the roles of identity and loyalty while offering a window into the world of the rich and fabulous.

Huge thank you to the publisher for sending me an advanced copy of this book for review!

River’s Review:

I liked this book… butttttt I didn’t love it as much as I did the previous book. I felt like a lot of the tension that made the first book so good was missing. And while I liked how everything was wrapped up it just felt like a lot of filler… and this was a fairly short book.

This book starts off shortly after the previous book left off. Grace and Cormac are living in Seattle, trying to con some money out of a woman, and Parker is locked up in Playa Hermosa. Renee is gone and Grace knows that nobody is going to help Parker. So she takes off with the rest of Cormac’s money and heads back to the scene of the crime to try to figure out how to help Parker.

A lot of this book is Grace doing idle things. Grace staking places out. Grace traveling around. Grace being stressed about money. And that’s it. I was SO HAPPY when Marcus and Scotty showed up! This was when things started to get good. We find out who the man next door (who sang the creepy songs) was! And we get this lovely, sexy con-man-turned-domestic-partner-with-his-ex-cop-husband story and I LOVED IT SO MUCH! Grace finally got to experience what it was like to be taken care of and loved! This happy little family was the best and I just wanted them to live happily ever after.

Marcus, we learn, taught Cormac everything he knows and he wants to take Cormac down. Grace is all for this! Sadly the big take down is full of boring stake-outs and little drama. It was all very anti-climatic.

Key characters from the previous book make a few appearances, Grace gets the chance to make amends with a few people, but I really would have LOVED a show down between her and Rachel. Sadly that didn’t happen. I feel like there was a lot of potential in this that just didn’t happen.

But I did enjoy getting a happy ending and I did enjoy seeing Grace come to terms with what she’d done and I loved Marcus and Scotty so much that I’m giving this four stars.

Leave a Reply

