Ten Books I Need to Get to Before 2016

So if you can all believe it, 2016 is on the horizon. In fact, there’s only a month and a bit to go… and I still have a crap ton of reading I want to get done. I know, I know, you’re all probably going “Sam, you read like a boss! How can you have stuff you haven’t gotten to yet?” Well, readers, I am such a damn mood reader that sometimes I put books off because I know I’m not in the right mood for it… yet. Which is a lot of the books you’re going to see on this list. However, I am bound and determined that before December 31st, I am getting to all of these. Here’s the ten books I need to get off my ass and read before the end of the year.

17571215

Things We Know By Heart by Jessi Kirby

So River turned me into this insane Jessi Kirby fan, and I’ve read all her books except for this one. River even GOT ME A COPY OF THIS DAMN BOOK. How have I not gotten to it yet? Well, it’s on a topic that is a little tough for me, and I know I will probably bawl like a baby when I finally do get off my ass and read it. Jessi Kirby writes such wonderful and powerful stories, so I need to get to this NAO.

unnamed

Nobody’s Goddess by Amy McNulty

As a friend of the author’s, I feel like she should have bitch slapped me by now. The premise is crazy intriguing, and I love that it throws gender norms out the window. This should seriously be completely up my alley, so I feel like a butthole for not reading this yet. I suppose I need to drag my Kindle on my train rides to work again! Amy, yell at me some more until I read this. Every day until I read this. Seriously.

cover

The Shadow Stealer by Melissa Giorgio

This is a ditto to the above book, minus the fact that it is the ending to an awesome series. I think I keep putting this one off because I don’t want it to be over, and I don’t want to ever forget about this spectacular characters. If you haven’t read this series and you love YA paranormal with some delightfully realistic characters, you NEED TO READ THIS SERIES. OMG.

23310823

The Girl Who Could Fly
by Victoria Forester

Back in October I had the pleasure of reviewing the companion book to this one, The Boy Who Knew Everything, and I LOVED IT. Victoria Forester has a very enchanting writing style, and this book was gifted to me by a lovely publishing friend who spoke insanely highly of it. Plus it’s not a chunky book, so I feel like I can fly through it.

23110068

Making Pretty by Corey Ann Haydu

I got this book back in August during the Frenzy Presents event, and while I read the other two books in my goodie bag, this one I kept holding back on. I have a feeling this one is going to be a good, tough read in terms of the subject matter. While I’ve heard mixed things about Corey Ann Haydu’s books, this one sounds like a great starting point for me, and I’ve been curious about getting into her work. Plus this cover is gorgeous.

25818163

Worlds of Ink and Shadow
by Lena Coakley

So more ditto to the above, but I discovered this book while at the Harper Collins Canada Frenzy Presents event. In fact, my ARC is even signed by the author to me.  This book comes out early January, and it focuses on the Bronte family. I’m not the biggest Brontes fan, but the premise for this book sounds delightfully charming and a little disturbing. I need to get on this before the release date. Yes I do.

16280678

Shattered by Kevin Herne

So this is book seven in the Iron Druid series, and um, it’s the only one I need to read to be caught up for January, since that is when book eight releases? Yeaaaaaaah…. this series is my candy, right up there with the Dresden Files. It’s cheeky, silly, Oberon is best dog (outside of my own dogs) and yeah, this series is just a ton of fun. Plus, I fly through these books! So there is kind of no excuse here.

23734628

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

I am a huge Rainbow Rowell fan, though admittedly I wasn’t super excited for Carry On. However, considering how much I adore her books, I can’t leave one ignored and unread. I’ve heard some very mixed things about this one, mostly going from THE BEST BOOK EVAR to WOW, WHY DOES THIS EXIST. I want to make my own judgement call on this one, though I am sure I will find it quite enjoyable.

13206900

Winter by Marissa Meyer

Again we have another case of me not wanting to let go of a series. Seriously though, it’s the last Lunar Chronicles book. THE LAST ONE. I don’t know if I will be able to handle all the feelings that I am going to have with this series coming to an end. I love the world, the characters, the story, I just can’t get over how much Meyer has accomplished with this series, and I feel like it’s one everyone should read if they love fairy tale retellings. However, this is an 800 page beast, but I hope to whip through it.

24892774

The Lies About Truth by Courtney C. Stevens

I adored Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens, and I’ve been anticipating this second book from her since it was announced. Once again, however, I have not gotten off my butt to read it yet because of reasons. Mainly, I’ve heard this isn’t as solid as her first book, but I hope to make my own judgements in regards to it. It looks as though it’ll be both a fast and tough read — two of my favourite things.

We’ll see how I do in the month of December. I’ve got roughly a month to try and powerthrough all of these, as well as working through some of the early 2016 ARCs I have to get to (which I will because I always do one Sam read, one ARC read). I also have TWO BOOKS left in my Book Riot challenge that I need to fit in some how. One of them looks to be a very Sam read, the other… looks a little dense but do-able. I’ve also put myself on a library ban until the new year, so I do have library books I need to tackle as well. I am hoping I have a better reading month in December than I did in November (I was a little slumpy).

Here’s to a good reading month! What’s on your TBR that you need to get to before the year is up and what did you think of my picks above? Good? Bad? Am I wasting my time with any of them? Let me know your thoughts!

4 thoughts on “Ten Books I Need to Get to Before 2016

  1. Amy McNulty

    I promise not to yell at you! And I certainly don’t think you’re a “butthole.” Thanks so much for the shoutout and happy reading!

    Yeah, I need to get on Carry On, too, since I gobbled up her other books and this one seems like it’ll be perfectly up my alley. I’m curious to know which camp I’ll fall into.

    I finally finished Cress and am flying through Fairest right now and I MUST read Winter soon, end of the series or no! *-*

    Reply
    1. samcmar Post author

      Hehe! I know you’d never see me that way, Amy. I just feel like a butthole because I wanted to get to it sooner rather than later (and after Truthwitch, my Kindle is going to be traveling with me to work next week).

      I feel the same about Carry On too. Like you, I completely devoured and loved her other books, but it’s interesting to see the varied opinions on this one in particular. Especially those who loved Fangirl but couldn’t get into this one!

      YAAAAAAY! YOU CAN DO IT! You may get to Winter before I do. 😄

      Reply
  2. Melissa Giorgio

    Good luck on getting to all of those books! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on a number of them, especially Nobody’s Goddess and Winter (I finished it Thursday and OMG SO GOOD BUT WHY MUST IT BE OVER!). And maybe The Shadow Stealer. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

