ARC Review – Hello? by Liza M. Wiemer

26831132Title:  Hello?

Author: Liza M. Wiemer

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: Tricia: A girl struggling to find her way after her beloved grandma’s death. Emerson: A guy who lives his life to fulfill promises, real and hypothetical.  Angie: A girl with secrets she can only express through poetry. Brenda: An actress and screenplay writer afraid to confront her past. Brian: A potter who sets aside his life for Tricia, to the detriment of both.

Linked and transformed by one phone call, “Hello?” weaves together these five Wisconsin teens’ stories into a compelling narrative of friendship and family, loss and love, heartbreak and healing, serendipity, and ultimately hope.

Huge than you to the publisher for letting me read an advanced copy of this book!

River’s Review:

After seeing everyone RAVING about this book I knew that I had to check it out. I was immediate put off by the multiple POV, but I had to know what everyone was so excited about. So I put my qualms aside (as I do when it comes to multiPOV) and gave it a shot.

Originally I thought this book was going to be about five teens who each got a phone call and that they all came together through this mysterious phone call. SO not what this book was about. So I was a little… confused? idk. Surprised that it wasn’t that (even tho it kinda sounds like that in the description).

Overall this book was good, and very well written. It tackles a lot of tough topics that I think are important for teen readers to have access to. The choice to use five diff POVs was a bit much, but I did like how one was in free verse, another was written in script format, and a third had drawings mixed in. Each voice was unique and I actually didn’t get ANY of them mixed up (which is rare for me & MPOV).

I did feel like a couple of voices got lost in the shuffle though. Brian in particular seemed to just kinda fade out at times and wasn’t as present as the ones that I felt were the main POVs (Tricia, Emerson and Brenda). There were times I was even wondering if he’d gotten forgotten about!

I also felt like a few things were a little predictable and melodramatic. I attribute this to the fact that I read A LOT of contemporary and I went into this with really high expectations. I was able to put things together before they could be reveled and was never really “mind-blown” by the revels as much as I probably should have been.

Overall thought I did enjoy this book. I really liked the tone, and there was a lot that I was able to relate to from my own teen years. I can see why this book is such a favorite and I hope that it makes it’s way into the hands of readers that need it.

Leave a Reply

