Book Riot’s 2015 Read Harder Challenge — Update #10 & Other Challenges

We have exactly one month left until the end of the year, and I am SO CLOSE to finishing my challenges that I can taste it! Here’s what I managed to read for my Book Riot Challenge this month! This means I only have two out of twenty four books left to read. Here’s how my shelf is looking for this project. Hard to believe I’m two books to finishing this year long challenge.

#4: A Book Published by an Indie Press

10958217

Shadow of Death, Book Two of the Chosen Chronicles by Karen Dales (Indie Press: Dark Dragon Publishing, from Toronto, Ontario, Canada)

I really like this series, and I thought this installment really ramped up the drama for Angel. Furthermore, I really loved how the majority of this book took place in Toronto. Considering its a city I am familiar with, it was great to be able to visualize the landmarks and streets that Dales was referencing in the story. Also omg Gywn! This book did however, feel like less of a horror novel compared to the first one. In fact, it read closer to an urban fantasy novel for me than it did horror, but that’s okay. My only gripe is while I loved the story, the editing in this book was a little wonky at times. Still, I really dug the story and I’ll have to bump Thanatos up in my TBR soon. Seriously, I love it when a vampire series actually uses vampire mythos correctly. SO HAPPY!

And since this is an indie press release, here’s some links to where you can buy this series, and support the author if you’re curious about it! Karen is a great writer, and a pleasure to know.

#8: A Book by an Author from Africa

7163862

Zoo City by Lauren Beukes

I’ve had Zoo City on my TBR for like, ever. It was one of those books where I was like HELLSYESINEEDTOREADTHIS and then just plum forgot about it. Yeah, I’m an ass. However, I have finally read it now, and the challenge it’s under is quite appropriate given that this is an African science fiction novel. Not only does this book highlight some of the issues facing African countries, but it taught me a surprising amount about countries I didn’t know a lot about to begin with, and with the science fiction setting, it was completely fascinating. Plus Zinzi just kicks major ass, and Sloth is a brilliant partner. I loved Beniot, but feels. Feels folks.

And for this challenge, Lauren Beukes is of South African descent, and is from  Johannesburg, South Africa.


You may recall last month that I said I was going to work through a lot of my series, playing catch up mostly. Well, I started a few new series, I caught up in a few. Here’s what I managed to get to:

First in a Series

  • Flesh and Fire by Laura Anne Gilman (Book 1 in the Vineart War series)
  • Riders by Veronica Rossi (Book 1 in the Riders series, releasing Feb 16th 2016)
  • Bitch Planet Volume 1 by Kelly Sue DeConnick et al.
  • Nailbiter Volume 1 by Joshua Williamson et al.
  • Bridget Wilder: Spy-in-Training by Jonathan Bernstein (Book 1 in the Bridget Wilder series)
  • The Death and Life of Zebulone Finch: Volume One by Daniel Kraus (Volume 1 in the Zebulon Finch series)
  • The Princess in Black by Shannon Hale et al. (Book 1 in the Princess in Black series)

Sequels in a Series

  • Red Rose Chain by Seanan McGuire (Book 9 in the October Daye series, caught up)
  • Fables Vol. 21 & 22 by Bill Willingham and co. (Completed!)
  • Ava XOX by Carol Weston (Book 3 in the Ava and Pip series, caught up. Releasing Feb 1st 2016)
  • Shadow of Death by Karen Dales (Book 2 in The Chosen Chronicles)
  • Black Widow, Vol. 3: Last Days by Nathan Edmondson, Phil Noto (Completed!)
  • Morning Glories, Vol. 2: All Will Be Free
Leave a Reply

