2016 Debuts I Need to Get My Paws On

2016 is around the corner, and debuts are completely upon us. I always look forward to debut novels, if only because I love seeing what a new author produces. It means then that if I enjoyed their first novel, I have something to anticipate in a second novel. Here’s a few of the debut novels I am insanely excited for!

22449806The Year We Fell Apart by Emily Martin (Release Date: January 26th 2016 by Simon Pulse)

My co-blogger, who is notorious for getting way ahead in the ARC pile of doom has already read this one, and warned me that it will probably emotionally destroy me given the subject matter. Since I am a super duper huge cry baby who loves emotionally engaging reads, I say bring it on (and then watch me be sobbing over the amount of feels I had).

24529123

This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp (Release Date: January 5th 2016 by Sourcebooks Fire )

Since reading and loving Violent Ends, I’ve been looking for more reads that focus on school shootings. I am big reader of tough issue novels, and the aftermaths of school shootings always fascinate me because it’s about living with the realities of what has happened, along with the grief and anxiety that goes with it. I feel like this book has a lot to offer readers on that front, and I’m interested to see if I’ll enjoy it when I get the chance to read it.

25785649

The Way I Used to Be by Amber Smith (Release Date: March 22nd 2016 by Margaret K. McElderry Books )

I suppose you guys are seeing a trend here, huh? Another tough issue novel, this one focusing on abuse. I admit, I don’t know a lot about this novel, and what little the synopsis has told me has me very interested. I actually have a physical ARC for this one and it looks a little on the chunky side, which always worries me with tough issue books because I always worry they will be dragged out. The buzz has been quiet on this one, the early reviews are showing some promise.

25898828

The Last Cherry Blossom
by Kathleen Burkinshaw (August 2nd 2016 by Sky Pony Press)

Japan book! Japan book! To be honest, I had never heard anything about this book until River pointed out that the author contacted me on my blog page (which I admit, I am HORRIBLE at checking). It wasn’t until River pointed out the request that I went and did a bit of investigating, and this book sounds absolutely interesting. We are a little tough on novels that take place in Japan on this blog (seeing as River lived there for many years), but I hope this one doesn’t disappoint!

22608764

How It Ends
by Catherine Lo (Release Date: June 7th 2016 by HMH Books for Young Readers )

Supporting Canadian novels is always really important to me. When I was at the Raincoast event back in September, this one was one of the novels highlighted in the presentation, and it focuses on the idea that there are two sides to every story, and two sides to every friendship. It sounds like it’s going to be an one of those hard to read friendship stories, but I think I’ll be ready for it when it releases in June!

So these are just a few of the debut novels I am excited for. Not surprisingly, a lot of it is contemporary. I just haven’t seen a lot of science fiction and fantasy debuts jumping out at me, but it doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist for me either! I want to know which debuts you are excited for, as well as debuts I should consider getting hyped for that maybe I just don’t know about. Share with me the debuts you are thrilled about! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

