ARC Review – This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

24529123Title:  This Is Where It Ends

Author: Marieke Nijkamp

Rating: ★★★

Synopsis: 10:00 a.m.
The principal of Opportunity, Alabama’s high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve.

10:02 a.m.
The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class.

10:03
The auditorium doors won’t open.

10:05
Someone starts shooting.

Told over the span of 54 harrowing minutes from four different perspectives, terror reigns as one student’s calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.

Huge thank you to Raincoast Books/Sourcebooks Fire and Netgalley for this ARC!

Sam’s Review:

Ever read a book where you read the synopsis and it turns out to be exactly as the back says? To the letter, no less? That is what reading This Is Where It Ends was for me, and in a lot of ways I was surprised I didn’t enjoy this book as much as the synopsis would have led me to believe.

I love diverse YA, I equally love tough issue YA, and yet this book didn’t draw any emotion from me. That bothers me too given a lot of what the synopsis promised, but I found this book very hard to connect with. Part of it was that we have some many points of view, which is both a point in the books favour, but a point against it. I loved the multiple points of view and how it was used to layer the disturbance present in this novel, but I disliked that the characters didn’t have much personality or something to connect with. It made for both a great and frustrating experience, because while I loved seeing Tyler from each of their eyes, I still felt like I didn’t know these characters very well, even up until the end.

For a book about a school lockdown and shooting, there was a lot that felt very convenient in the story to move it along. Perhaps it’s me comparing it to school shootings that have occurred in the news in the past, but part of me expected a bit more of an onslaught from Tyler’s part, given the level of revenge he wanted to take on his classmates and the school. I wasn’t shocked or surprised by the outcome of this book, and I felt as if it was the only way the author could have ended the book… but I was mad that I didn’t show any emotion over the story or its characters. I should have given their horrific circumstances, but alas, it didn’t happen.

That’s not to say that this is a bad book! Far from it, the writing is quite good and engaging, and it’s a quick read too. I think I just would have connected to this book more had I found characters to latch onto, and you know, hadn’t readViolent Ends earlier in the year. This book is an interesting perspective of school shootings and how people crack under emotional pressure, and if you like that sort of thing, I’d recommend it. If you love a character driven novel, you won’t find that here, I’m afraid.

 

Leave a Reply

