ARC Review – Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

V23 new typeface tagline.inddTitle: Tell Me Three Things

Author:  Julie Buxbaum

Rating:  ★★★★★

Synopsis: What if the person you need the most is someone you’ve never met?  Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week of junior year at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

Huge thank you to #firstinline for sending me a copy of this book!

River’s Review:

Omg you guys I LOVED THIS BOOK SO MUCH!!!! I’m a huge fan of contemporary YA and this was just so good I wish I could read it again. Jessie’s voice was so amazingly pitch perfect and she was so funny. This entire book was so true to tone too. It felt so real and just resonated with the part of me that was super awkward in high school and never felt like I fit in. Hell as an adult I still don’t feel like I fit in (and could TOTALLY relate to the father when he was talking about how he doesn’t feel like an adult, ugh, dude, I feel ya).

I loved how the relationship between Jessie and SN grew. I’ve had so many online friendships that have turned into IRL friendships that it’s just kinda weird (to me) when people DON’T have those kinds of relationships. Sure not everyone is going to find their soul mate, bff or partner online, but man, how do you NOT have at least a few friendships going on there????

I also could relate to how difficult and different it was for Jessie to “go home”. I’ve spent a lot of time away from my hometown and the first time I went back after having been gone for a full year, it was difficult. Very difficult. People change, move on, and they don’t even mean to all of the time. I loved that it wasn’t easy for either Jessie or Scarlet to just go back to the way things used to be.

The mystery of who SN was wasn’t really much of a mystery for me. I accidentally saw at the end of the book (that’s what I get for checking to see how many pages it was hahahaha) but none of the guys that she thought they could be seemed to fit the bill for me. So I was glad when it turned out to be who it was. And then to find out the reason why SN was doing what they were doing… it really seemed to fit.

Also, shout out to Theo. He was probably my favorite. I loved how he was such a diva and threw a tantrum and then later he came around and was all chill with his new sister. That’s the kind of friend I would want if I were in Jessie’s place.

If you’re a fan of contemporary YA with happy endings and high school drama, check this out. Jessie’s voice will suck you in and make you laugh and smile and you wont want to put this book down!

One thought on “ARC Review – Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

Leave a Reply

