ARC Review – Daughters of Ruin by K.D. Castner

25785728Title:  Daughters of Ruin

Author: K.D. Castner

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: Rhea, Cadis, Suki, and Iren have lived together since they were children. They are called sisters. They are not. They are called equals. They are not. They are princesses…and they are enemies. Not long ago, a brutal war ravaged their kingdoms, and Rhea’s father was the victor. As a gesture of peace, King Declan brought the daughters of his rivals to live under his protection—and his ever-watchful eye. For ten years the girls have trained together as diplomats and warriors, raised to accept their thrones and unite their kingdoms in peace.

But there is rarely peace among sisters. Sheltered Rhea was raised to rule everyone—including her “sisters”—but she’s cracking under pressure. The charismatic Cadis is desperately trying to redeem her people from their actions during the war. Suki guards deep family secrets that isolate her, and quiet Iren’s meekness is not what it seems.

Huge thank you to Simon & Schuster Canada for this ARC!


Sam’s Review:

I must confess, I wasn’t sure I was going to enjoy Daughters of Ruin. It has a beautiful cover,that misrepresents the novel in a lot of ways. The blurb sounded interesting, but felt a little misleading. I was worried I was going to get a fantasy novel with a ton of romance in it just based on the cover alone, but what I got was quite the surprise.

Daughters of Ruin spans four POVs of view regarding four women who are forced to live together, though taken from rival kingdoms. There’s a lot of strong political intrigue, fantastic action sequences, and the heroines (minus one for me) were very well developed given that this novel isn’t very long. My favourite POVs to read were definitely Cadis and Iren’s, though I may or may not have been shipping them as a couple throughout the whole book. I loved their relationship and how they knew when they could sass-mouth each other and when it was time to get to down to business. I loved the politics in Rhea’s chapters and she grew on me as the novel went on.

But I hated Suki. I found her chapters very painful to read given the unique style they were in. I think there are better ways to share an internal monologue through text, but this wasn’t one of them. I found her chapters hard to read from a format perspective, and she was just a really whiny and annoying character to follow about.

The other thing about this book is that while the story does a great job of building itself, the ending is a tad weak. In fact, it feels like it should be sequel-bait because it’s simply ends. The resolve doesn’t feel as strong as it could, so I am wondering if there is going to be a series or not. And yeah, there’s romance in this book, but it’s more from a political standpoint, and this is really more about understanding the politics behind each heroines motives. That, I liked a lot.

Daughter of Ruin was an unexpected surprise for me, and I think those who love darker, more politically fueled fantasy would definitely get a kick out of this novel. I really just wish it had been a little longer, because I feel like there’s so much more that could have been explored. But each of the heroines really does have something to offer the reader, and I think given the craziness of this world and the fast-paced action, that this one will be an easier winner for fantasy fans.

One thought on “ARC Review – Daughters of Ruin by K.D. Castner

Leave a Reply

