ARC Review – The Mirror King (The Orphan Queen #2) by Jodi Meadows

22909838Title:  The Mirror King  (The Orphan Queen #2)

Author: Jodi Meadows

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: Wilhelmina has a hundred enemies.

HER FRIENDS HAVE TURNED. After her identity is revealed during the Inundation, Princess Wilhelmina is kept prisoner by the Indigo Kingdom, with the Ospreys lost somewhere in the devastated city. When the Ospreys’ leader emerges at the worst possible moment, leaving Wil’s biggest ally on his deathbed, she must become Black Knife to set things right.

HER MAGIC IS UNCONTROLLABLE. Wil’s power is to animate, not to give true life, but in the wraithland she commanded a cloud of wraith mist to save herself, and later ordered it solid. Now there is a living boy made of wraith—destructive and deadly, and willing to do anything for her.

HER HEART IS TORN. Though she’s ready for her crown, declaring herself queen means war. Caught between what she wants and what is right, Wilhelmina realizes the throne might not even matter. Everyone thought the wraith was years off, but already it’s destroying Indigo Kingdom villages. If she can’t protect both kingdoms, soon there won’t be a land to rule.

Huge thank you to HarperCollins for sending me an ARC for review!

River’s Review:

If you know me you know that I’m not the biggest fan of YA fantasy. I mildly enjoyed The Orphan Queen and expected to enjoy this but not actually find parts that I LOVED.

In the TOQ I totally guessed who Black Knife was right from the start, and found a lot of the book predictable. I DID find the Wraith (and the Wraithland) intriguing and I was really looking forward to learning more about that. So sadly in this book the exploration that I had been hoping for didn’t quite happen, but I was surprised at the ending.

I read TMK in two days because I was very invested in what was happening. Some parts were predictable (especially when it came to certain deaths) but the way that things occurred were surprising and I enjoyed that. I really wish that Wraith Boy would have had more development because he was incredibly intriguing.

Overall there was just too much fighting going on and not enough wraith exploration. I really feel like there was a missed opportunity with that. The fighting and betrayals were all very typical fantasy, but the wraith was different and I’d read another book in this world if we were able to learn more.

Leave a Reply

