Life Update and Where I’ve Been

Hi everyone,

So you may have noticed that other than ARC reviews, there hasn’t been much going on for the blog. I am really sorry about that, but life took an unexpected turn that I’m now working my way through.

My mother was a cancer patient for eleven years, and finally she passed away. It breaks my heart given that she managed eleven extra years on life, even though she was told all those years ago that she was going to die then. Since my dad passed back in 2013, we’ve really clung together, keeping each other sane, and being there for each other in order to make sure that everything in the house was in working order. She was my greatest role model, a champion fighter, and lover of others. She was so selfless in the way in which she dealt with people, always willing to give more of herself if need be. I always continue to strive to be like my parents — they were amazing people, so losing both of them in such a short span of time can really mess with someone.

So here we are. This is why there’s only been reviews on the blog. I’ve been trying to keep myself calm and sane, but the reality is that I have a lot of work ahead of me, and I need time to grieve what I once had, while also reminding myself of all the good memories I had as well. I hope to start having regular scheduled content back up from both River and I, but I hope for now a lot of these reviews of new and upcoming titles will suffice for a bit longer.

Thanks for your understanding, and keep sharing all your newfound reading loves with me in the comments. I always love hearing from everyone and what they’ve been enjoying as of late.

2 thoughts on “Life Update and Where I’ve Been

  1. rathertoofondofbooks

    I’m so sorry to read what you’ve been going through recently. I know how hard it is to lose a mum to cancer, and all I can say is that it takes as much time as it takes to come to terms with the loss. I lost my mum seven years ago now and I still think of her every day, and I miss her, but the passage of time honestly does ease the pain. In time you’ll be able to remember all the many happy times and smile, but for now just be easy on yourself. I’m thinking of you.

    Reply
  2. Kathleen

    I’m so sorry to hear what you have been going through. I lost my mother last year after she was ill and can empathize with you. I’m sure your parents are proud of how you took care of them when they needed you and of the love and memories you will store in your heart.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

