ARC Review – The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

26871765Title: The Unexpected Everything

Author: Morgan Matson

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: Andie has a plan. And she always sticks to her plan.  Future? A top-tier medical school. Dad? Avoid him as much as possible (which isn’t that hard considering he’s a Congressman and he’s never around).
Friends? Palmer, Bri, and Toby—pretty much the most awesome people on the planet, who needs anyone else?
Relationships? No one’s worth more than three weeks.

So it’s no surprise that Andie’s got her summer all planned out too.

Until a political scandal costs Andie her summer pre-med internship, and lands both she and Dad back in the same house together for the first time in years. Suddenly she’s doing things that aren’t Andie at all—working as a dog walker, doing an epic scavenger hunt with her dad, and maybe, just maybe, letting the super cute Clark get closer than she expected. Palmer, Bri, and Toby tell her to embrace all the chaos, but can she really let go of her control?

Huge thank you to Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers and Netgalley for this ARC!

Sam’s Review:

After all the crumminess in my life as of late, it makes me so excited to have a book like The Unexpected Everything pop up and be exactly what I want it to be. Morgan Matson has this knack for writing contemporary stories that I love to read — the kind that focus on harder realities and how we choose to deal with those difficulties. While her books often offer an element of fun, whimsical teen spirit, they are also parts tough issue novels that are full of heart.

I loved Andie and I could easily relate to her in a lot of ways. I love being in control of situations, and when I want control it’s done in a very specific way. Even though I’ve recently lost my mother, it’s one of those things where no matter how much control you want to take in a situation, life truly has other plans and sometimes you have to find a way to make backup plans when you didn’t think you’d need one. Andie is one of those girls, and when her summer starts to fall a part because of her plans, she gets scared, frightened, like there’s something wrong with her. But she also picks up her boot straps and find a way to get her life back on track. I LOVED that she was a dog walker, and I loved how she went from being someone who didn’t think she could do the job and then she pulls through.

I also loved the romance in this book, but much like Matson’s other novels, she’s one of the few writers where she gets me to enjoy romance in the first place. I adored Clark, I loved that he wore his geek flag loud and proud, and I adored that he was simply himself. He had a lot of insecurities and discomfort in being himself, but he also wanted to embrace it as well. I thought Andie’s group of friends were fantastic, and if I’m being frank, Matson knows how to create great friendships for her characters in a way that a lot of authors tend to make friendships feel so secondary. Palmer, Bri, Toby, I loved them all.

The Unexpected Everything is a book I unexpected loved and came at the right time for me. While things do get tied up fairly easily in the end, I still loved the story and its characters. Matson just knows how to get her readers cuddled into her stories, and they are often so much fun to read, but so thoughtful and smart as well. I need to work on checking out the other two books of hers I haven’t read yet and get on those stat!

2 thoughts on “ARC Review – The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

  1. Kelly

    I’m not a huge contemporary reader, but the covers of Morgan Matson’s are always so eye-catching, and I”m always tempted to pick them up, just based on that. I keep hearing fantastic things about this one… maybe I’ll branch out!

    Reply
    1. samcmar Post author

      She is a fun contemporary writer and she will get you in the feels once in awhile. She’s worth a go to see if you like her style or not! I’ve only read two of her books myself, and they are just very easy breezy summer contemporary reads. 🙂 Give her a shot!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

