Five Books From the #TeensReadFeed Fall Preview That I Need

Last weekend I had the opportunity to attend Raincoast’s Fall Book Preview. This event was to highlight upcoming titles releasing in the fall, and what was shown was quite a range of works, from new mystery and thriller titles, to epic sounding middle grade novels. There were two events, one in Vancouver and the other in Toronto. The Toronto people were able to interact with the Vancouver people via Google Hangouts.

Ch32ZxPU4AAhLx9

Once we were ushered in, there were many treats to be obtained, homemade lemonade (so delicious) and other snacks. We were also given a grab bag with posters, bookmarks, and a few ARCs that were being highlighted in the event. Here’s my pile, and let me say, I am excited to read all three of these!

Ch8Aj0pWwAAWBFr

There was also a special guest, Eileen Cook, who wrote With Malice. During that section of the event readers were able to ask Eileen questions about her writing process, the novel, and some of her recent favourite reads. I really enjoyed listening to her discuss the writing process and where the inspiration came for With Malice. She was also just delightfully candid and entertaining as well. If you want to check out With Malice, it releases on June 7th 2016.

Now, you are all probably wondering what books were highlighted at the event, and there was a lot of them. I’m not going to go through the entire list, but rather share with you the five books that I came out of the event desiring the most. So without further ado, let’s highlight some of the most wanted titles!

27414477

Missy Piggle-Wiggle and the Whatever Cure
by Ann M. Martin, Annie Parnell, Ben Hatke (Release Date: September 6th 2016 by Feiwel & Friends)

Surprise! I bet you weren’t expecting a middle grade title to be my most anticipated book from the event, but here we are. I ADORED Ann M. Martin’s Rain Reign and it was one of my favourite books the year I read it. I also am a huge lover of Ben Hatke’s artwork, so to have two people who’s works I love be in the same book? It’s a win for me. Missy Piggle-Wiggle sounds delightful charming, in the vein of books likes The Penderwicks, which I love. This one looks fun, quirky, and I think the team on this can totally stick the landing.

27414389

A Darkly Beating Heart
by Lindsay Smith (Release Date: October 25th 2016 by Roaring Brook Press)

Japan? Time travel? Lindsay Smith knows how to write historical novels and give them interesting twists. This novel moves between modern day Japan and the 19th century, and focuses on LGBT issues in Japan. Not to mention it sounds like quite the thrill ride, and who doesn’t love a good timeslip story where the heroine fights for injustice in two realms? Could be fantastic!

22065080

Vassa in the Night
by Sarah Porter (Release Date: September 20th 2016 by Tor Teen)

First off, this cover. This cover is beautiful. Second, the book is inspired by the Russian folktale Vassilissa the Beautiful, which I had never heard of and did some research on. This book sounds eerie, but also intriguing. There’s witch’s, curses, and it’s all done in the backdrop if Brooklyn. Definitely could be an interesting fantasy pick to recommend when I’m working with teens at the library. BUT HOLY SMOKES THIS COVER.

26153925

With Malice
by Eileen Cook (Release Date: June 7th 2016 by HMH Books for Young Readers)

Okay, so this one is a cheat, given the author was at the event. This is also not a fall title being released (DON’T JUDGE!), but after hearing Eileen Cook talk about this one, I know it’s a book I’d probably enjoy quite a bit. There’s a lot of mystery surrounding Jill, and I am a sucker for a revenge story, and a book that takes place in Italy. I am definitely going to be grabbing this when it releases, and I’m glad it’s getting a lot of positive attention from bloggers as well.

23208632

Gertie’s Leap to Greatness
by Kate Beasley (Release Date: October 4th 2016 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

This debut middle grade novel features illustrations by Jillian Tamaki and a zombie bull frog. How can anyone say no to these things? I certainly can’t. We have a heroine who wants to be the greatest fifth grader that ever lived, and how can you not love a heroine who has a lot of conviction? Gertie sounds AWESOME and it looks like the kind of book I’d love to read and likely read in one sitting. Awesomeness to come? I think so!

And there you have it! Are any of these books on your radar? They probably should be. A huge thank you to Raincoast for inviting me to the event and being able to share there upcoming titles with all the bloggers in attendance. I had an amazing time, and I hope that all five of these books live up to the hype that I’ve put into my brain. When you have books like these, it’s no wonder why fall is an exciting time in the publishing industry!

Leave a Reply

