June Wrap Up and July Reading Goals~

June was a mostly productive reading month. I read a lot of books both from my own physical TBR, as well as books I borrowed from the library. I kinda of have this problem where when I am at work, I bring new books home. Let’s see the physical pile I finished!

CmJ07h4WMAE7JKv

My favourite read out of the pile is a toss up between Winter by Marissa Meyer and How it Ends by Catherine Lo. I thought both books were absolutely fabulous, but I do think How It Ends edges Winter out just slightly.

I also participated in #TBRTakedown this month and I managed to finish ALL the books I selected for the event. Here’s a recap of what I read for that event:

ClVKkB0VAAAj8yU

1. TBR over a year [longest] – The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi
2. Sequel – Thanatos by Karen Dales (Book Three of the Chosen Chronicles)
3. First book in a series – This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab
4. Out of comfort zone [whatever that means for you] – Smoke Gets in Your Eyes: And Other Lessons from the Crematory by Caitlin Doughty (Non-Fiction)
5. Most Recent Book Haul – How It Ends by Catherine Lo

And lastly, I had folks on Twitter craft me a challenge for the month of June. I… almost completed it. Here’s my results:

  1. Read an Adult Fantasy novel (Owl and the Japanese Circus by Kristi Charish)
  2. A one-word title. (Tangled by Carolyn Mackler)
  3. A book that is has purple on the cover. (Sex Criminals Vol 3: Three the Hard Way Criminals by Matt Fraction & Chip Zdarsky)
  4. A must-read Molly recommendation! (Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi)
  5. An LGBTQIA+ read (The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson)
  6. Read This Savage Song by V.E Schwab
  7. Something by a Canadian author. (Thanatos by Karen Dales)
  8. A book with a dog in it or as the main character.
  9. Something sci-fi. (Winter by Marissa Meyer)
  10. Read something that has blue on the cover. (The History of Love by Nicole Krauss)

So I managed to get to everything but challenge nine, and honestly I think I did well!

My goals for July are simple: No library books (haha this is going to be funny) and work some more at the Shelf of Shame. I am going to allow myself whatever library books I already have out, but the goal will be to read at least fifteen of my own books from my collection. It’s summertime, I have a long commute to and from work, so I think this is do-able. We shall see!

What are some if your reading goals this month? Let us know down below!

One thought on “June Wrap Up and July Reading Goals~

  1. Diana Prince Reviews

    Ooh, I’m hoping to read Sex Criminals volume 3 this weekend. That June challenge looks like it was a ton of fun! I feel you on the library ban for this month – I just returned six today, and I still have one checked out that I need to finish. Good luck with your goals for July! (ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧

    Reply

Leave a Reply

