ARC Review – The Lost & Found by Katrina Leno

23253261Title: The Lost & Found

Author: Katrina Leno

Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis: LOST: Frannie and Louis met in an online support group when they were both younger. They have never met face-to-face. They don’t even know each other’s real names. All they know is that they both have a mysterious tendency to lose things. Well, not lose them, exactly. Things just seem to…disappear.

FOUND: They each receive news in the mail that sets them off on a road trip to Austin, Texas, looking for answers—and each other. Along the way, each one begins to find, as if by magic, important things the other has lost. And by the time they finally meet in person, they realize that the things you lose might be things you weren’t meant to have at all, and that you never know what you might find if you just take a chance.

Huge thank you to Harper Collins for sending me an ARC of this for review.

Molly’s Review:

So I was lucky enough to get a signed copy of this from the author AND an ARC from the publisher (which I gave away on twitter) and I cannot wait to get my finished copy. If you know me you know that I LOVED Leno’s debut, and that I’ve forged a friendship with her on twitter. I have been dying for this book and then when I got it I was almost scared to read it because I had such high expectations.

This book went on a journey with me and I think it was the perfect companion and I’m kinda glad that I waited for the perfect moment to read this. I went to visit my family last week after not having seen them in two years. This trip was special to me and I knew that it was going to change me in some unknown ways. And this book is about that kind of journey. About following your instincts and finding yourself. I needed this book to be with me and I’m so lucky that I had it.

I love Leno’s writing and I could read her stuff for hours. I cannot wait to get more of her books in the future. I also love her characters, they’re all so naturally complex and diverse. She throws A LOT of diversity into this book, but it’s all very quiet and isn’t forced. It wasn’t done to make the book diverse, it was just the way that the pieces fell. Frannie has a very troubled past filled with mental illness. Louis is half Indian, as is his twin sister, and he suffers from PTSD and OCD tendencies. He’s an insomniac (something that I could SO relate to) and his sister is a disabled amputee. But this is NOT a story about their diverse characteristics, but about the characters themselves. And I loved how masterfully Leno was able to craft that into her story.

Frannie and Louis are both suffering from traumas in their past and they are both trying to find the things that they lose (literally, these things just vanish). There is an element of magical realism in this book (at least that’s how it read to me, it could be different for others) and I loved that so, so, so very much. Frannie and Louis are online friends and they met through a group of trauma survivors. And by a twist of fate they end up having the chance to meet in real life. They both head to Texas for their own reasons, on their own journeys, with their loved ones (Frannie with her cousin and Louis with his sister), and are just lucky enough to have the chance to meet.

The story is told in alternating POV chapters and usually I hate this but it worked really well because we got to see both sides of the story and each character’s journey from their own POV. I loved how things began to merge and the different experiences and growth that they all had. The side characters in this book are wonderful and complex and amazing.

I really loved how unconventional this book was. You think it’s going to be one thing and it pulls the rug out from under you and is something totally different. Yes there is a love story, yes there is a friendship story, yes there is a sibling story. But they are not what you think they’re going to be. And it’s a happysad ending. I was so satisfied.

One thought on “ARC Review – The Lost & Found by Katrina Leno

Leave a Reply

