Five Books I Want to Read Over the Summer

Summer is officially upon us. At work I am currently on tap to help out with our library’s Summer Reading Club, which is quite the big job. Why, you ask? Because we are teaching children about the importance of reading and writing all summer long! Furthermore we are getting the kids to track a lot of what they read. But that’s another story.

I LOVE summertime. I especially love reading out on my back porch with a beer in one hand and a book in the other. Here are five books I REALLY want to read this summer, and a little bit about why I want to get to them. If you’ve read them, let me know what you thought of the choices in the comments!

18525657

Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend (Broken Hearts & Revenge #1)
by Katie Finn

I have had this book on my shelf since the year I got married and it’s one of those books that looks like a perfect summer read. I’ve heard this series is cheeky, a bit ridiculous, and a lot of fun. Plus if I enjoy it, I know there are two more books in this series. I love Morgan Matson, so I am interested to see how her Kate Finn persona plays out.

23613983

Run
by Kody Keplinger

During the summer, I always have a huge craving for contemporary, be it adult or YA. I have loved every Kody Keplinger book I have read (and I am mad I have books by her I haven’t read yet either). Molly was lucky enough to score me an ARC of this book because she knew how much I loved Kody Kelinger’s other books and I love the sound of the premise for this one as the focus on friendship seems to be a larger theme. A+ in my books!

16156292

Blood of Tyrants (Temeraire #8)
by Naomi Novik

I adore the Temeraire series and this is the book I have left off at. I have it, but for whatever reason, I haven’t actually read it yet. The last book also recently released so I feel like I need to just binge read the two of them because who the heck doesn’t love smart-ass talking dragons? Plus, I want a big chunky fantasy read and I feel like coming back to this series might be exactly what I may be craving.

27414477

Missy Piggle-Wiggle and the Whatever Cure by Ann M. Martin

Middle grade is another thing I love to devour during the summer. The reads are often lighter and light-hearted. This book looks adorable and I feel like it’s the kind of book I would be able to breeze through during an afternoon. Plus, artwork by Ben Hatke! How can I go wrong?

24956528

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet (Wayfarers #1)
by Becky Chambers

I’ve been wanting to read a lot of science fiction again lately, more specifically, books that focus on space and space travel. I kept hearing crazy good buzz about this book and Rachel Bach’s Paradox series. This book apparently is one of those reads that sucks you in and then you are demanding more by the end of it. Sounds like my kind of book!

What are some of the books you want to get to this summer? I realise I picked five, but let’s face it, there’s always more!

One thought on “Five Books I Want to Read Over the Summer

Leave a Reply

