Book Chat – Learning to Love Audiobooks

Audiobooking was a thing I thought I’d never do. The idea of listening to a book being read to you did not feel like “reading” to me. I felt a lot of hesitation towards audiobooks and I am disappointed in myself for allowing my previous judgement dictate how I feel.

Now, especially as I’ve grown older, I am enjoying audiobooks more. I find them great for when I’m walking my dog (big dog, little dog hates walks) or when I’m cleaning my house, it’s great to just listen to a story while working. I think my enjoyment of audiobooks may also be due to the fact that it is something I am constantly teaching at work to customers on who to use if they don’t want to talk out Audiobooks on CD. Teaching them how to download them through places like OneClickDigital or Overdrive through the library teaches them that there’s a pletora of titles out there to listen to and enjoy.

Some of my favourite audiobooks are the ones read by the authors themselves. Part of the reason I love when authors read their own books is it adds a level of authenticity to characters. I may imagine who one character sounds in my head while the author may have something drastically different. If you ever want to hear a sense of what I mean, listen to any book by Judy Blume that she reads and you’ll know exactly what I mean.

Through my adventures in audiobooking, I’ve found titles that have worked well for me, and some that I think I would have enjoyed more had I read the physical book. Narrators really do make a world of difference and if you have the chance to check out an audio sample, I always recommend doing so because there’s nothing worse than wanting to read a book and the narrator isn’t what you were expecting.

If you aren’t sure where to start, here’s three audiobooks I absolutely adored and definitely recommend checking out.

23705512

You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost)
by Felicia Day

This is a fantastic audiobook that is read by the author and it’s adds a great level of authenticity. When Felicia is fangirling over video games and conventions, there’s a real genuiness to hearing her voice — you get a better sense of her emotions, and when she talks about her social anxiety and depression, it’s very raw to listen to her discuss it with such strength. She doesn’t sugarcoat her feelings in any way, and I think that’s why this worked so well for me as an audiobook. The only downside? It comes with a PDF to enjoy some of the photograph content, but you know what? It’s fiiiiine!

21448330

Crudrat
by Gail Carriger

I kickstarted this book a few years back and it was my real first foray into audiobooks — and this was a full cast audiobook performance no less! Fantastically produced, and a fun story overall, Crudrat is the pinncale of what audiobooks can do for listeners, providing such a rich and intense listening experience. Seriously, if you can get a copy it’s worth checking out.

857911

The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy (The Penderwicks #1)
by Jeanne Birdsall, Read By: Susan Denaker 

My first foray into the Penderwicks was actually through audiobook. This series has a fantastic reader in Susan Denaker, who does can amazing job giving voices to each of the characters in this series, each very distinctive. This is how I fell in love with this series, and since my work doesn’t have books three or four in digital audiobook format, I had to resort to physically reading them and you know what? I pictured the characters the way Susan Denaker read them. Crazy, huh?

If you’ve been enjoying audiobooks, how did you get started on them? What have been some of your favourites you’ve listened to? Let me know down in the comments!

Leave a Reply

