Five Middle Grade Novels You Should Read This Summer

I realize we are already halfway through the summer, and my goodness does time fly! During the summer there are two genres that I really gravitate towards: contemporary and middle grade. While I do think middle grade is always best enjoyed all year round, I find I read a lot of it during the summer. There’s something about falling into a story where there’s an adventure, there’s still a sense of innocence, and I feel like that is just something I can always connect with.

Today, I thought I’d share with you all five middle grade novels I think would be great to check out this summer.

857911

The Penderwicks series by Jeanne Birdsall

I am convienced that this is THE summer middle grade series to read. Every adventure that Rosalind, Skye, Jane and Batty have are always such a delight, and Birdsall does an amazing job of evoking a level fo genuiness with this series. While I haven’t read Penderwicks in the Spring yet, I can definitely attest to what an easy, breezy, enjoyable read this series is. Seriously, Batty alone will make you smile, I promise.

25897850

Tru & Nelle by G. Neri

This is a novel that looks at the historical relationship between Truman Capote and Harper Lee. Majority fo this novel takes place during a hot summer in Alabama, and it depicts a beautiful friendship, while also tackling issues of segregation. There’s a lot of heart and soul in this story that just made me smile. It’s the perfect middle grade to bust out the iced tea and sit outside and devour.

23310823

The Girl Who Could Fly by Victoria Forester

This book and its sequel The Boy Who Knew Everything are amazing books that I will never ever shut up about. These are fast-paced fantasy novels that star children with extraordinary abilities. This series is incredibely clever, very imaginative, and it offers a lot of fun and exitment while also exploring issues of difference and identity in a wonderful way. READ THESE BOOKS, YO.

25776235

The Hamster Princess series by Ursula Vernon

Part novel, part comic, Hamster Princess is simply amazeballs. Hilarious, quicky, this series will make you laugh so hard that you cry. Harriet is a delight and she knows she needs know prince charming to be a kick butt rogue princess. With two books so far in the series, there’s just way too much fun to be had with this series, and these make for great, quick summer reads!

20454626

The Hook’s Revenge series
by Heidi Schulz

PIRATES! Pirates are totally summery, right? Get ready for some crazy adventures on the high seas with  Jocelyn, daughter of the infamous Captain James Hook. This book is about becoming the kind of person you want to be, fighting to be recognized, and knowing that you can really achieve anything you set your mind to, Great humour, awesome messages, and just plain fun. Now I just need to remember to read book two!

And those are my five picks for some great summer middle grade books. I am always looking for great middle grade recommendations, so if you have any, please consider sharing with me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

