ARC Review – Replica (Replica #1) by Lauren Oliver

28448287Title: Replica (Replica #1)

Author: Lauren Oliver

Rating: ★★★

Synopsis: Gemma has been in and out of hospitals since she was born. ‘A sickly child’, her lonely life to date has revolved around her home, school and one best friend, Alice. But when she discovers her father’s connection to the top secret Haven research facility, currently hitting the headlines and under siege by religious fanatics, Gemma decides to leave the sanctuary she’s always known to find the institute and determine what is going on there and why her father’s name seems inextricably linked to it.

Amidst the frenzy outside the institute’s walls, Lyra – or number 24 as she is known as at Haven – and a fellow experimental subject known only as 72, manage to escape. Encountering a world they never knew existed outside the walls of their secluded upbringing , they meet Gemma and, as they try to understand Haven’s purpose together, they uncover some earth-shattering secrets that will change the lives of both girls forever…

Molly’s Review:

Lauren Oliver is such a hit or miss author for me. I tend to LOVE her contemporary books and then just feel kinda meh about her other stuff. I wasn’t a huge fan of her Delerium books and Replica had a very similar vibe to those books which is partially why I think I didn’t LOVE this book. And I really wanted to love this book.

I also have a little bit of an issue with the ~unique structure~. Because it didn’t really feel that unique at all. When this book first appeared I was very curious to see how it could be read three different ways. I actually had pictured something WAY different in my head. But it’s basically two books that are just dual narratives that were split in half. I feel like you could do this with any dual narrative third person POV novel. But the three ways you can read this book are:

Read Gemma’s story start to finish.
Read Lyra’s story start to finish.
Read them while alternating the chapters. You can do every other chapter (that’s how I did it) or every two, three whatever.

It is literally just a dual POV narrative that was deconstructed. I honestly got annoyed because I had to have two bookmarks!

Anyway, the writing is solid Lauren Oliver. I didn’t feel much for the characters, I didn’t really care for the romance, and I was able to see every twist and turn that came our way. A lot of things happen very coincidentally and just kinda “work out”. I did find a lot of the concepts interesting, but there wasn’t as much mystery as I would have liked, and nothing really WOWed me.

I do think I’ll read the next one though just to see what’s going to happen because we WERE left with a lot of questions.

Overall though, not my favorite by her.

Leave a Reply

