2017 Releases That Are On My Radar

The new year is coming and I feel like I haven’t even scratched the surface with all of the releases that 2016 has had to offer. It’s the same old song and dance, there’s never enough time to read everything, but darn it you’re going to give it a college try!

I thought today I would focus on a few releases in 2017 that are coming and I have on my radar. These are books I am super curious to get my hands on and read just to see if they live up to the expectation that may be forming in my head. Also for the purposes of this post I am avoiding books I actually have ARCs for, mainly to spotlight stuff that I am interested in reading at some point.

32078787

Once And For All by Sarah Dessen (June 6th 2017 by Viking Books for Young Readers)

I am so jazzed for a new Sarah Dessen book. She is one contemporary YA author who I have religiously be reading for over five years. I always find I have such a deep connection to her characters and there is always something in her writing style that just clicks with me. Also this book has a cynical main character who has a dislike for weddings. I may be married and have had a wedding, but man weddings are draining things. I think I am going to like this one!

29102891

Blueberry Pancakes Forever (Tuesday McGillycuddy #3) by Angelica Banks (February 7th 2017 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

This is a reminder to all middle grade fans out there that you should be reading the Tuesday McGillycuddy series. Creative, delightful, and just plain fun this series has been one of my go tos when I am doing middle grade Reader’s Advisory. I think it’s just such a fantastic and imagaintive series for all ages. This is the third adventure for Tuesday and I am dying to see what her and Baxterr’s next adventure is going to be. Have I mentioned this series has the best covers ever? Because they do.

28458598

When Dimple Met Rishi
by Sandhya Menon (May 30th 2017 by Simon Pulse)

THIS BOOK SOUNDS ADORKABLE. I am not always the biggest on romance, but I don’t mind it in YA if the plot is really well fleshed out and it isn’t just a love-at-first-sight-thing. This book gives an inside look to Indian culture and practices, but it also looks like it shows taking charge of oneself and becoming who one wants to be. It just sounds like a great little romance, and I love reading about other cultures, especially ones vastly different from my own.

29283884

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue
by Mackenzi Lee (June 20th 2017 by Katherine Tegen Books)

Confession time: I still haven’t read Mackenzi Lee’s debut and I know I need to. In fact, my bestfriend lent me her copy of the book to ensure I would make time to read it. GGtVV sounds like it’s going to be a crazy fun historical romp, and this is a romp I wanted to read and have fun with.  Yeah, I just want it. I want it now.

31450908

Down Among the Sticks and Bones (Wayward Children #2)
by Seanan McGuire (June 13th 2017 by Tor)

I absolutely adored Every Heart, A Doorway, and Seanan McGuire is a favourite author of mine. Colour me crazy surprised that there is going to be a sequel! And I couldn’t be more excited. I won’t say too much about the plot, but definitely read the first book if for the portrayal of an asexual heroine. Seanan McGuire is such an amazing writer and her worlds are always so vivid and it’s always why I keep coming back.

What are your five must-have reads for 2017? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

