Book Chat: #ShelfofShameJuly Challenge

June saw me slow down my reading a bit. Part of it is that I used to take the bus to work and that was prime reading time. Now I drive a car, which is crazy exciting, but it also cuts into my reading time more which is a bummer. Even though I read every day in June, I still feel like I didn’t read at my usual speed or even amount. I also read a lot of library books, which is always the problem when you work at the library.

The goal for July is to make a small change. I’ve suspended all my library holds (minus my comics) and my goal is to push towards reading stuff on my own shelves. I have so many ARCs I want to read, so many books I own I want to read. I need to get back into the habit of constantly reading and pushing myself towards clearing my TBR a bit more. I’ve been working through my TBR in different ways, such as my monthly reading challenges, my Goodreads Goal, Read-a-thons, and even doing the Book Riot Read Harder Challenge as well.

July is going to be a rough month given I’ll be running RPGamer.com’s #JRPGJuly event where we play and try to complete a JRPG in a month. I also have friends from Minnesota visiting as well, so I really need to try and use my time wisely. Hopefully I can manage my time better in the month of July, because June just had so much going on to the point where I felt as though I couldn’t keep up with everything going on and then my reading suffered because of it.

So my goals for July are going to be:

  • Read 5 ARCs
  • Read one 500+ page book
  • Read 5 books from the Shelf of Shame

Hopefully there will be a read-a-thon or something going on in July to motivate me further. WISH ME LUCK!

Leave a Reply

