Book Riot’s Read Harder 2017 Challenge – October Reads

October is coming to an end, and I feel like again, I didn’t finish enough of my Read Harder Challenges. I have two months left and four books. Can I do it? Who knows. What I will say, however, read Born A Crime. It won’t let you down.


Born a Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood by Trevor Noah

Completes Challenge #5: Read a book by an immigrant or with a central immigration narrative.

Thoughts: I picked this book up on the recommendation of my co-worker. I didn’t know much about Trevor Noah other than his work on television. Reading about “bring born a crime” and how he had to figure out how to survive in South Africa in such a rough period was very interesting and engrossing. I found I had so many feelings reading this book, as they would spiral around from joy, sadness, to hysterical laughter. Each of the stories offered so much insight not only into Trevor’s life, but also South Africa. I absolutely loved this one and highly recommend it.

 

 


Bit by Bit: How Video Games Transformed Our World by Andrew Ervin

Completes Challenge #13: Read a nonfiction book about technology.

Thoughts: I feel like I am cheating a bit with this pick. I looked into a lot of books about technology and a lot of them were not on topics I was interested in. However, I adore video games, and technically they are a piece of “technology”! I know, I could have tried harder, but whatever. Bit by Bit is a history of video games, a memoir about some of the author’s connection to games, and it focuses on titles that pushed boundaries during the early years of the industry. There’s lots of discussion surrounding Nintendo’s beginnings, or Tim Schafer’s games which challenge the genre in changing the way we think about puzzles. The book was good, a bit dry, and some of the titles were games I admit to not enjoying, but I still appreciate a lot of the context Ervin provides. A good read!

Leave a Reply

