Five 2018 Releases That Are On My Radar

November is the month where we realize that December is around the corner and the year is nearly over. However, it’s also a month that sometimes feels longer than it should too. While I still have lots of 2017 releases in need of being read, my eyes are already looking at some of the shiny titles for 2018. While I’ve read a couple of 2018 releases, I am not going to include them in this list simply because I didn’t read them in 2018. I always try to pick five releases for the year that are considered my must-reads and here’s the ones so far I am anticipating.

Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons #2)
by Marie Lu (Release Date: January 2nd 2018 by Random House Books for Young Readers)

I am a huge Batman fangirl. I didn’t grow up on Marvel comics, but I did DC and I have always had a more affinity with the DC Heroes. Batman was always a favourite, and even now I still watch all the animated movies that come out, and I still try to stay as current as I can with Batman comics. I really liked the first book in the DC Icons series, Warbringer, which was about Wonder Woman. Marie Lu has always been a bit of a hit-or-miss author with me, but I have faith her Batman will be good.

Girl Made of Stars
by Ashley Herring Blake (Release Date: May 15th 2018 by HMH Books for Young Readers)

While I was at the recent Raincoast #TeensReadFeed presentation, Ashley Herring Blake’s works can up twice, and both really caught my attention. I love books that focus on tough issues, and Girl Made of Stars is a book I feel like I am really going to enjoy and have many feelings towards. I still need to read her debut, Suffer Love, which I have. I may have to prioritize that before this book releases!

The Way You Make Me Feel
by Maurene Goo (Release Date: May 8th 2018 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BFYR)

While I haven’t read Maurene Goo’s debut novel, I LOVED I Believe in a Thing Called Love. It was quirky, fun and just such a palette cleanser from books I had been reading at the time. Every time I see the title for this book I just start singing Michael Jackson, which I am not sure if that was intentional or not (seems likely though). I am hoping this book will have everything I liked about Maurene Goo’s previous book and more. Also Korean leads in books are always interesting to me and this cover is beautiful.

A Girl Like That
by Tanaz Bhathena (Release Date: February 27th 2018 by Farrar Straus Giroux Books for Young)

I am very hyped for this book. I think it will be an enlightening read looking at teens and racism as a topic. I am loving reading about groups of people that are different from me and what kinds of differences they have. This sounds like such an ambitious debut that looks at topics like race, identity, class, and religion,  I will have to get my hands on it when it releases in February, and bonus that this is also written by a Canadian author! Whoo!

Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orïsha #1)
by Tomi Adeyemi (Release Date: March 6th 2018 by Henry Holt Books for Young Readers)

I used to love reading science fiction and fantasy, but over the last year or so it’s something I have been gravitating towards less and less. I can’t really explain why, but I feel like it hasn’t been grabbing me as of late. This book however, I feel like I am going to love. This debut is written by a Nigerian-American author, and focuses on the idea of destroying magic and fighting vengeful spirits. I’ll be intrigued to see how Nigerian culture comes into play, but I am sooooo excited for this read.

And there you have it! These are the top five books that I am super anticipating for 2018. I realize this list could go on forever, but these were the ones that were definitely sticking in my mind, all things considered. I’d love to know what 2018 reads you are most anticipating in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Five 2018 Releases That Are On My Radar

Leave a Reply

