ARC Review – Being Sloane Jacobs by Lauren Morrill

Untitled-1Title:  Being Sloane Jacobs

Author: Lauren Morrill

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: When the two Sloanes meet by chance in Montreal and decide to trade places for the summer, each girl thinks she’s the lucky one: no strangers to judge or laugh at Sloane Emily, no scouts expecting Sloane Devon to be a hero. But it didn’t occur to Sloane E. that while avoiding sequins and axels she might meet a hockey hottie—and Sloane D. never expected to run into a familiar (and very good-looking) face from home. It’s not long before the Sloanes discover that convincing people you’re someone else might be more difficult than being yourself.

Huge thank you to Delacorte and Netgalley for an advance copy of this book.

River’s Review:

Okay, to be honest I requested this, forgot about it, and then when I got it it sat on my to-read shelf forever because I wasn’t in the mood for contemporary and then I wasn’t in the mood for a ‘summer’ book. My co-author was like BUT WINTER SPORTS and I was like meh~ but my poor Netgalley account hasn’t seen an update in ages, so I decided to go for it and OMG THIS WAS SO CUTE AND MADE ME SO HAPPY.

I’ve never been great at sports, but I had MY sport. I horseback rode for 6 years, and sadly quit to be more active in high school things (I lamely quit for cheerleading and band). But I was GOOD at riding. And I probably could have made something of myself if I had gotten into competing more seriously (rly, I went to only 1 show and got a blue ribbon in my very first dressage class and I didn’t even have the routine fully memorized). So I totally love things about people who are passionate about sports. And I really like hockey AND figure skating (yes I had my little-girl dreams of being a famous figure skater as I taught myself how to do simple spins on my frozen pond in the winter), so I really enjoyed this.

If you know me, you know I HATE multiple or alternating POV books. But if they’re done right I don’t mind. And this was done really well. I could tell the two girls voices apart and had no trouble distinguishing their stories.

I really liked BOTH Sloane’s, but I liked Sloane Devon slightly more. And I loved how their lives were weird juxtaposed images of each other.

Some of this was predictable, but there were ALL THE FEELS so it didn’t even really matter because I was so busy tearing up or swooning that I didn’t care. And the ending made me laugh so hard.

I’m definitely going to check out Lauren Morrill’s other work!

Sam’s Review: 

Huge thank you to Delacorte and Netgalley for the advance copy of this book!

Being Sloane Jacobs was an absolute surprise for me. The premise gives you a sense that this could be a very light-hearted,Parent Trap-esque romp, and it’s actually a lot deeper than that.

I absolutely love stories that take place in Canada. I LOVE being able to point out in a story “Hey! I’ve been there!” and giggle to myself — with this story set in Montreal it was so easy to visualize where Sloane Emily and Devon were roaming around, and I think Morrill did a great job of making the setting feel vibrant, so good on her!

I ADORED both Sloanes. I loved that Sloane Emily is a bit of a princess who comes from a broken home and an affair that hangs over her head, and I love that Sloane Devon is such a tough gal (I mean, you have to be to play hockey), yet she is surprisingly perspective and kind. Each has a problem they are ultimately running away from, yet are forced to confront, but Morrill does a great job of making it all come together. Sure there were parts that were predictable, but I didn’t care considering how easy it was to fall in love with both girl’s voices.

I think what surprised me about Being Sloane Jacobs is that it really is a book where you expect one thing and actually get another. There’s a wonderful amount of cunning that takes place, you have two girls switching sports and actually LOVING the change, you have summer romances that actually are fun and work well. Actually, the romances were so EASY to root for, and I was happy overall.

Being Sloane Jacobs, for me, might me one of the more fun and surprisingly engaging reads I’ve encountered this year. It’s not only a great contemporary story full of charm, but it has just enough darkness to make these girls feel so real. It’s definitely worth the read when it releases, and one I urge those who love contemporary to check out.

One thought on “ARC Review – Being Sloane Jacobs by Lauren Morrill

  1. Pingback: The Bookmark Blog

Leave a Reply

