ARC Review – The Rise of Aurora West by Paul Pope, J.T. Petty & David Rubín

18465567Title:  The Rise of Aurora West

Author: Paul Pope, J.T Petty, and David Rubin

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: The extraordinary world introduced in Paul Pope’s Battling Boy is rife with monsters and short on heroes… but in this action-driven extension of the Battling Boy universe, we see it through a new pair of eyes: Aurora West, daughter of Arcopolis’s last great hero, Haggard West. A prequel toBattling Boy, The Rise of Aurora West follows the young hero as she seeks to uncover the mystery of her mother’s death, and to find her place in a world overrun with supernatural monsters and all-too-human corruption. With a taut, fast-paced script from Paul Pope and JT Petty and gorgeous, kinetic art from David Rubin, The Rise of Aurora West(the first of two volumes) is a tour de force in comics storytelling.

Huge thank you to First Second for this ARC!

Sam’s Review:

I recently read Battling Boy before it’s Eisner win, and I have to say, it’s definitely one of the more cheeky superhero-esque stories out there. Battling Boy is actually a young boy who behaves like a young boy, and admittedly, that’s where my greatest enjoyment came from the story. Colour me excited when the prequel The Rise of Aurora West appeared in my mailbox.

Aurora’s story is mostly hinted at in Battling Boy and isn’t fully fleshed out. Here, we get a huge glimpse into Aurora’s life and relationship with her father, the great hero Haggard West. Aurora was my favourite character in the previous story so I was delighted to hear she was getting a two book prequel that follows her story. She’s such a kick-ass, no nonsense kinda gal, but we do see a softer side to her character, especially in relation to the closeness of her father, which I adored. I thought that was so wonderfully woven into the story and I genuinely found myself caring about Aurora and Haggard’s relationship.

There’s also an awesome amount of action in this book and it’s very fast-paced and page-turning. Furthermore, the monster designs are really fun and creepy, though considering my ARC was in black and white, I’d be interested to see how the colouring is going to look like once the final version is out. If you lovedBattling Boy, you’ll definitely enjoy this prequel, and I know for me personally, I’m going to have a hard time waiting for the next instalment of this to drop. Highly recommend for those who love war torn worlds and action-oriented storytelling.

Leave a Reply

