ARC Review – The Queen of Bright and Shiny Things by Ann Aguirre

21469091Title: The Queen of Bright and Shiny Things

Author: Ann Aguirre

Rating: ★★★ 1/2

Synopsis: Sage Czinski is trying really hard to be perfect. If she manages it, people won’t peer beyond the surface, or ask hard questions about her past. She’s learned to substitute causes for relationships, and it’s working just fine… until Shane Cavendish strolls into her math class. He’s a little antisocial, a lot beautiful, and everything she never knew she always wanted.

Shane Cavendish just wants to be left alone to play guitar and work on his music. He’s got heartbreak and loneliness in his rearview mirror, and this new school represents his last chance. He doesn’t expect to be happy; he only wants to graduate and move on. He never counted on a girl like Sage.

But love doesn’t mend all broken things, and sometimes life has to fall apart before it can be put back together again…

Huge thank you to Macmillan and Netgalley for this ARC!

Sam’s Review: 

The cover of The Queen of Bright and Shiny Things is somewhat misleading (minus the post-it notes). Judging by the cover, I was half expecting this novel to be a lot more fluffy than it actually was. The models look so happy ont he cover, how could I be wrong?

Well, because, I was. I was not expecting the amount of angst this book provided considering the beginning of the book was so cute and entertaining. Angst is not a bad thing, but even reading the synopsis, this book went to a few places I didn’t expect it to go for better or worse.

I absolutely loved Sage though as a main character, and being in her head throughout the story was quite the delight. I loved her positive initiative with the post-it notes, I loved that she wanted to bring joy to people, even if it was in such a simple way. Yet, it does make her a meddler, and one who finds herself in quite a bit of trouble throughout the story. Her darkside is also so unexpected and I liked that side of her too.

Funny enough, for me it was Shane I had the hard time with. I just didn’t see the appeal, and that’s hard for me when there’s a romance. Usually when I read a book with a romance I hope to love both characters, and I find I never seem to have a lot of luck with this. Shane was all right, but I just couldn’t connect with him (and may be in some ways his distance that’s the point). I also found myself not caring as much as I’d like to in regards to the secondary characters, they just felt there and that didn’t work for me either.

If you go into this book thinking it’s fluffy, you are dead wrong. It’s anything but, and that will either work in your favour or it won’t. Unfortunately, I was looking for a fluff read after so many depressing novels, and this one made me pretty darn sad at times. The Queen of Bright and Shiny Things is a good book, but it’s one you definitely need to prepare yourself for, especially if you get swept up in how cute that darn cover is.

Leave a Reply

