Late to the Party ARC Review – A Sense of the Infinite by Hilary T. Smith

23149935Title:  A Sense of Infinite

Author:  Hilary T. Smith

Rating:  ★★★★★

Synopsis: It’s senior year of high school, and Annabeth is ready—ready for everything she and her best friend, Noe, have been planning and dreaming. But there are some things Annabeth isn’t prepared for, like the constant presence of Noe’s new boyfriend. Like how her relationship with her mom is wearing and fraying. And like the way the secret she’s been keeping hidden deep inside her for years has started clawing at her insides, making it harder to eat or even breathe.

But most especially, she isn’t prepared to lose Noe.

For years, Noe has anchored Annabeth and set their joint path. Now Noe is drifting in another direction, making new plans and dreams that don’t involve Annabeth. Without Noe’s constant companionship, Annabeth’s world begins to crumble. But as a chain of events pulls Annabeth further and further away from Noe, she finds herself closer and closer to discovering who she’s really meant to be—with her best friend or without.

Huge thank you to Harper Collins Canada for this ARC!

Sam’s Review:

This is the last book form my OLA Super Conference 2015 pile that I had yet to read. I admit, I was hesitant about this one, because while I enjoyed Wild Awake, I wasn’t completely in love with it either. A Sense of Infinite, however, is the perfect follow up novel, which such a rich and involving story.

This book focuses on friendship, secrets friends keep, and how life doesn’t always go as planned. It’s quiet, subtle, but it manages to whisk the reader away with such ease. I read this four hundred page novel in a day — that’s how invested I was. I loved the way in which Hiliary T. Smith weaves Annabeth and Noe’s relationship throughout the story, you get this strong sense of friendship between them, and the bond is really beautiful.

At the same time she does this amazing job of showing how the two are also slowly drifting in different directions and how it doesn’t ultimately destroy them. High school friendships are so tricky because they are often the hardest to keep, but I feel like this novel gives a sense that a friendship can pick up and left off and still you feel like nothing has changed.

Even when Annabeth’s secret is revealed, I loved Noe’s response and the way in which she just leaps for Annabeth. I also loved Steven, imperfect as he was. My heart wept for him at times. But truthfully, I loved all the characters. I loved reading their triumphs and struggles, and I felt like I was given this quiet glimpse into a life that perhaps I shouldn’t have been given. The writing does this amazing job of pulling you in and keeping you invested.

A Sense of Infinite is one of those books that is so hard to describe to others. It’s thoughtful, smart, and offers wonderfully complex relationships that show growth over time. If you’re like me and weren’t blown away by Wild Awake, I urge you to give this novel a chance because I think this is the one that will leave you thinking well after the story is over.

Leave a Reply

