River’s Musings

2015/01/img_1497.jpg

Okay let’s give this a try. I find that a lot of the reason why I don’t post much is because I can’t post photos without a lot of work. My photos are all on my iPhone and by the time I’ve gotten them to my computer I’m just done. So here I am updating from my iPad.

2015/01/img_1456.jpg

2015/01/img_1525.jpg

2015/01/img_1515.jpg

2015/01/img_1446.jpg2015/01/img_1486.jpg

On Christmas Day my husband and I went for a walk around MIT’s campus. I never get tired of looking at it. I love it here. I do miss some things from Japan (food, the train, convenience stores, certain products that I used to get at the drug store that I can’t get here) but I’m really happy here.

2015/01/img_1448.jpg

On our walk we found this outside one of the dorms. I took a few photos and this is by far one of the best photographs I’ve taken in my life.

2015/01/img_1477.jpg

2015/01/img_1415.jpg

2015/01/img_1449.jpg

We rang in the new year with wine, the ball drop in Times Square (streaming live) and we shouted HAPPY NEW YEAR out the window. I even saw a few fireworks off in the distance. I started the year with my traditional re-read of THE RAVEN BOYS and set my reading goal to 100.

2015/01/img_1560.jpg

I was so excited to have the chance to order a ton of books from Bookoutlet during their Boxing Day sale and finally got my books a few days ago. I am so excited to read them!

Lately I have been feeling a bit discouraged about blogging and reviewing. I feel that I’m at the point where I can reach out to publishers to make connections and I really, really want to review physical ARCs. I got my Kindle while I was in Japan for many reasons, one of them being that it was incredibly convenient for me. I also was able to review eARCs because of it. But now that my lifestyle has changed I actually am not able to use my kindle as much as I had in the past and that means that a lot of my eARCs are going unread and I feel like I’m REALLY missing out. So I started to reach out to publishers and I’ve gotten both positive and negative responses. (Negative mainly being ignored). But as I see books that I was crossing my fingers to get popping up in other people’s hands and my mailbox remaining empty I’m starting to feel discouraged. Do I keep trying? Do I give up and just let reviewing fall to the wayside? I’m not sure what to do. But I don’t want to give up this blog and I want to work harder at it and make it better. I want to be involved with the book blogging community.

One thought on “River’s Musings

  1. samcmar

    First off, I love all the pictures. You and Kenji are so darn cute.

    Second, I don’t want you to feel discouraged or give up. Keep pushing, keep trying, because someone will budge and break the barrier. If someone says they put you on a list, check back with them closer to the date. It doesn’t hurt to check in, let’s face it, publisher’s are human too!

    Third, I don’t want you to ever stop blogging. You are the yin to my yang, and my partner in crime. I love when you review and write posts because I adore the amount of personality you put into your work and I feel that’s insanely important. I love you and I like that we are who we are — we work well together. Who’s going to help me fangirl things like Maggie and new favourites all across the blog? 😛 I cannot do it alone (and I refuse!)

    When in doubt, know I’m in your corner and I will help always where I can. ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

