Book Riot’s 2015 Read Harder Challenge — Update #9 & Other Challenges

October was an up and down month for reading. Life was just crazy busy, so a lot of my reading got done on my train ride to and from work. That being said, I made some more progress on my Book Riot Challenge. I can confidently say, I have four books left to read. Four is a pretty good number, and I think I can complete it all either next month, or do two and two for the rest of the year. Here’s what I tackled…

#13: Read a Romance Novel

17254466

Cinderella Screwed Me Over by Cindi Madsen

This was surprisingly cute, and definitely not something I’d normally read. I generally dislike pure romance novels, but this one made me laugh out loud numerous times. It’s cute, with a touch of angst, and if you are a huge Disney fan, then this book will actually appeal to you ten times more. The way the Disney references were woven in? Genius! Really, this is a surprisingly genuine and funny romance novel. I’m actually glad I read it, ’cause romance like this is always super out of my comfort zone.

#21: A Book Published Before 1850

13628336 The Count of Monte Cristo
by Alexandre Dumas

So this finally happened. I started this book at the beginning of September and finally completed it. I’ve actually had this book on my shelf since high school, and I’ve always been intimidated by the size of it. It’s crazy huge and over a thousand pages! But it’s actually a really fantastic novel full of revenge, intrigue, politics, identity and self-discovery. It’s a favourite of my husband’s that I’ve just been afraid to read and I wish I had gotten to it sooner. It’s really a great classic, but one that you definitely need to be patient with.


I’ve decided for the month of November that I am going to play catch up on some of the series I’ve started over the years. There’s just so many sequels on my shelf and for some reason, I just haven’t bothered picking them up and completing them. My goal is to try and complete as many sequels by the end of November. Here’s the a few I’m looking at catching up on or completing:

  • The Lair of Dreamers (The Diviners #2), by Libba Bray
  • A Week without Tuesday (Tuesday McGillycuddy #2)
    by Angelica Banks
  • A Red-Rose Chain (October Daye #9)
    by Seanan McGuire
  • Shattered (The Iron Druid Chronicles #7)
    by Kevin Hearne
  • Shadows of Self (Mistborn #5)
    by Brandon Sanderson
  • Sinner (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #4)
    by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Shadow of Death (The Chosen Chronicles #2)
    by Karen Dales

And who knows what else…

Also awhile back, you’ll remember I was doing a shelf challenge. I had River pick a shelf on my bookshelves, and it would be the shelf I would try to knock a lot of books off. So it’s been two months, let’s see the progress!

shelfchallenge

Before

CSkqXGEUkAYUqlG

After

Not bad if I say so myself! How was your reading in the month of October? I’d love to know.

Leave a Reply

